What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-12 ULS

dsm8

Well Known Member
Patron
Good Evening:

First I would like to say I have had nothing but awesome customer service from Van Aircraft. Reading the threads over the last couple of years it appears to me that the RV-12 is being relegated to second class status.

I am no engineer, but I understand you can not slap the 912is on the ULS frame, but I feel the support for the legacy aircraft is waning and I want to be reassured that support will continue. I feel that Vans Aircraft is a model organization and demonstrates a true commitment to the experimental aircraft industry. I look forward to many happy years with Van's grin slapped on my face.

I have never felt that way at all,I get incredible help and support on my Rv12 every time I call with any kind of a issue,so I disagree,Vans has never ever pushed me to something else in this case the 12IS. Van's support on my 12 ULS has been 1st class from day one.

We fully support builders, pilots and owners of RV-12 aircraft every single day, and quite happily. The RV-12iS is simply an updated version of the airplane.

You won't need to worry about support waning, and honestly, it's a little funny that you open with "waning" and close with "commitment." :)

Lest anyone read your post and take it the wrong way: We do and will continue to fully support the RV-12. In fact, we still support the RV-3 and that design is (literally) nearly 50 years old. To date, we have not dropped support for a single aircraft model released since the business opened in 1973.

I?ve got the original D-180 design with a 496 and have never felt Van?s gave me anything but the best service. Of the many things that keep me up at night worrying about Vans customer support is not one of them.