What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

anodizing

jibby212

Well Known Member
I work in the aluminum railing trade and use several coating methods but anodizing seems to be one of the better options. I havnt found much info on anodizing complete aircraft, either individual parts or sub assemblies, the company we use has a 20' x 4' tank. I would paint the exterior, anodizing does have insulating properties, don't know if this would affect anything. Any thoughts?

I'm no expert, but I've read that anodizing reduces fatigue life by around 50%. Not a problem if the part is designed around that knowledge (RV spars are anodized), but could be a real issue if the part isn't designed with that life reduction in mind.

Charlie

Not completely true

I spent some time with a company in Phx that does all types of coatings. One of their major clients is Boeing helicopters in Mesa. (The Apache) They anodize many parts for the Apache. He said the metal fatigue issue is part of Internet mythology and the overall affect is minimal. I also have a friend and RVer that is an engineer at Boeing helicopters. He said anodizing is not a problem in the fatigue area, but depending on what is anodized and the process it could fade in the Sun over time.

As has already been noted, the most critical part of our planes, the spar, is anodized. So, if you want to bling up a few parts with anodizing........

FYI, the company that is doing some work for me is Futureweld in Phoenix. My POC is Michael Beaver.

Charlie is correct that anodizing reduces the fatigue life of aluminum parts by "up to" 50%. The Anodizing process makes the surface of the aluminum brittle. This is why the fatigue life is reduced. Fatigue life reduction is related to the thickness of the coating and the chemicals used. See

http://www.finishing.com/153/54.shtml

http://www.lambdatechs.com/documents/258.pdf