VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > GPS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-19-2021, 09:07 AM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 12,840
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacCool View Post
My buddy, who is pretty smart about avionics, mentioned that one problem I might have is having to do a little re-pinning to get the IFD440 connected properly to my GMA340 audio panel. Anyone have some experience with that configuration?
I have replaced a couple of 430W’s with 440’s, and the audio worked just fine with my standard GMA audio panels. However, there is supposedly the capability to use the “standby monitor” function in the 440 that I have been told ONLY works with the Avidyne audio panel. Since i have two Comms in both airplanes in which I have these installations, researching and figuring out of there is a way to make that function with a GMA has never risen high enough on my priority list …. That might be what your buddy is talking about?

In any case, slide the unit in and it SHOULD work the same as the 430W was working.

Paul
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor at Large - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-19-2021, 11:11 AM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironflight View Post
I have replaced a couple of 430W’s with 440’s, and the audio worked just fine with my standard GMA audio panels. However, there is supposedly the capability to use the “standby monitor” function in the 440 that I have been told ONLY works with the Avidyne audio panel. Since i have two Comms in both airplanes in which I have these installations, researching and figuring out of there is a way to make that function with a GMA has never risen high enough on my priority list …. That might be what your buddy is talking about?

In any case, slide the unit in and it SHOULD work the same as the 430W was working.

Paul
Thanks Flight. I think that's exactly what he was talking about.
__________________
RV-9A, 2011, bought flying
IO-320D1A (factory new), C/S
IFR equipped
AFS 5400/3500, G5, IFD440 navigator,
bunch of other stuff
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-24-2021, 06:07 PM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 775
Default

The install was pretty straightforward as ya'll suggested. It took about 20 minutes including the configuration. The settings weren't exactly the same as the 430, but pretty close. Comms work great, but by the time I got the thing installed and the battery changed on the ELT, I was cold enough that I didn't feel like dragging it outside so it could see satellites and if it knew what to do with them. It did give me a magenta line to home, but it was from Melbourne, Florida. Somewhere, I also missed the setting to configure wifi and turn bluetooth on so I didn't set up the keyboard nor did I try to upload a flight plan from Foreflight. I'll get it tomorrow, and then maybe see if the thing will fly and maybe navigate.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IFD440-1.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	392.5 KB
ID:	18697  Click image for larger version

Name:	IFD440-2.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	369.6 KB
ID:	18698  Click image for larger version

Name:	IFD440-3.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	432.2 KB
ID:	18699  Click image for larger version

Name:	IFD440-5.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	446.2 KB
ID:	18700  
__________________
RV-9A, 2011, bought flying
IO-320D1A (factory new), C/S
IFR equipped
AFS 5400/3500, G5, IFD440 navigator,
bunch of other stuff
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-24-2021, 08:08 PM
jcarne's Avatar
jcarne jcarne is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Worland, Wyoming
Posts: 1,984
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacCool View Post
The install was pretty straightforward as ya'll suggested. It took about 20 minutes including the configuration. The settings weren't exactly the same as the 430, but pretty close. Comms work great, but by the time I got the thing installed and the battery changed on the ELT, I was cold enough that I didn't feel like dragging it outside so it could see satellites and if it knew what to do with them. It did give me a magenta line to home, but it was from Melbourne, Florida. Somewhere, I also missed the setting to configure wifi and turn bluetooth on so I didn't set up the keyboard nor did I try to upload a flight plan from Foreflight. I'll get it tomorrow, and then maybe see if the thing will fly and maybe navigate.
Just what I needed, a big a$$ side of jealousy to go with my Thanksgiving turkey!
__________________
Jereme Carne
PPL
RV-7A Flying as of 03/2021
Exempt but gladly paying!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-25-2021, 05:46 AM
FORANE's Avatar
FORANE FORANE is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East TN
Posts: 609
Default

Things didn't go so smoothly when I installed a 440 in place of a 430w. The 430w had great satellite lock, the 440 kept loosing satellite lock. Same tray, same gps antenna, the 430 held position, the 440 lost position every few minutes it seemed. I pulled the 440 out, put the 430w back, issue was completely gone; I pulled the 430w out put the 440 back, gps lock kept recurring.

The other issue, or concern I had, was the 440 ran hot. It was so hot it was uncomfortable to touch. I really wanted to like the 440. It offers much more capability than the 430w. Ultimately I removed the 440 and still run the 430w to this day.
__________________
Lancair 235/340
RV-9A (2013 - 2016)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-25-2021, 12:52 PM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FORANE View Post
Things didn't go so smoothly when I installed a 440 in place of a 430w. The 430w had great satellite lock, the 440 kept loosing satellite lock. Same tray, same gps antenna, the 430 held position, the 440 lost position every few minutes it seemed. I pulled the 440 out, put the 430w back, issue was completely gone; I pulled the 430w out put the 440 back, gps lock kept recurring.

The other issue, or concern I had, was the 440 ran hot. It was so hot it was uncomfortable to touch. I really wanted to like the 440. It offers much more capability than the 430w. Ultimately I removed the 440 and still run the 430w to this day.
Yeah, they are known to run hot, so I read. I note that the guy who built my airplane apparently decided to cool the avionics stack with the GNS430W using air directed from the main cabin air vent. Did it ever shut down on you, or did you ever get an overtemp warning from the IFD440?

As to the satellite lock problem...how recently did you encounter that issue? What did Avidyne say about that?
__________________
RV-9A, 2011, bought flying
IO-320D1A (factory new), C/S
IFR equipped
AFS 5400/3500, G5, IFD440 navigator,
bunch of other stuff
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-25-2021, 04:41 PM
FORANE's Avatar
FORANE FORANE is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East TN
Posts: 609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacCool View Post
Yeah, they are known to run hot, so I read. I note that the guy who built my airplane apparently decided to cool the avionics stack with the GNS430W using air directed from the main cabin air vent. Did it ever shut down on you, or did you ever get an overtemp warning from the IFD440?

As to the satellite lock problem...how recently did you encounter that issue? What did Avidyne say about that?
It never shutdown or displayed an overtemp warning. My 430 install included an avionics blast tube from a naca scoop for cabin ventilation. That was continued to be used with the 440.

The satellite lock problem was when I installed the 440 in May 2018. I contacted Avidyne and was asked where the GPS antenna was located. It was on a shelf in the empennage of my composite Lancair. They provided a copy of the install manual stating it must be installed on the exterior upper fuselage of the aircraft. Fair enough, my install wasn't compliant with the 440 install manual, but it worked fine with the 430...why could the 430 handle it and the 440 be unable? That difference and the painfully hot running box were 2 strikes for me; I didn't want to see the third strike while in IMC with only one IFR GPS.
__________________
Lancair 235/340
RV-9A (2013 - 2016)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-25-2021, 06:01 PM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FORANE View Post
It never shutdown or displayed an overtemp warning. My 430 install included an avionics blast tube from a naca scoop for cabin ventilation. That was continued to be used with the 440.

The satellite lock problem was when I installed the 440 in May 2018. I contacted Avidyne and was asked where the GPS antenna was located. It was on a shelf in the empennage of my composite Lancair. They provided a copy of the install manual stating it must be installed on the exterior upper fuselage of the aircraft. Fair enough, my install wasn't compliant with the 440 install manual, but it worked fine with the 430...why could the 430 handle it and the 440 be unable? That difference and the painfully hot running box were 2 strikes for me; I didn't want to see the third strike while in IMC with only one IFR GPS.
Hmm..interesting. I haven't flown the thing yet, but firing it up on the ground after pulling it out of the hangar resulted in rapid satellite acquisition and entering a flight plan showed the usual magenta line, sent as usual to my EFIS and moving map as well as via a separate RS232 line to my G5. THAT was encouraging. Haven't checked the autopilot, so I don't know if ARINC is online.

I wonder if my WAAS antenna location will end up being a problem. It's mounted next to the upper firewall just under the cowl.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	waas.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	573.8 KB
ID:	18725  Click image for larger version

Name:	440 panel.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	526.0 KB
ID:	18726  
__________________
RV-9A, 2011, bought flying
IO-320D1A (factory new), C/S
IFR equipped
AFS 5400/3500, G5, IFD440 navigator,
bunch of other stuff
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-26-2021, 11:28 AM
AllThumbs's Avatar
AllThumbs AllThumbs is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 322
Default IFD to 340 wiring

Here is what we did when replacing a KX-165 and KLN-90B with an IFD-440. See attached image of the wiring schedule. In your case there should be even less to do as long as the Audio LO and HI signals are each separate pins from 430W.

The only thing you might want to do is repurpose a switchable audio input on the 340 (like ADF as we did) to allow you to listen to that standby audio. If you have two radios this is probably not a high priority but if the 430W was your only radio then that standby is really handy.

Neil
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IFD-340.jpeg
Views:	10
Size:	124.1 KB
ID:	18737  
__________________
RV-6 panel is fine. Just... fine.
2021 VAF dues paid!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-26-2021, 11:36 AM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllThumbs View Post
Here is what we did when replacing a KX-165 and KLN-90B with an IFD-440. See attached image of the wiring schedule. In your case there should be even less to do as long as the Audio LO and HI signals are each separate pins from 430W.

The only thing you might want to do is repurpose a switchable audio input on the 340 (like ADF as we did) to allow you to listen to that standby audio. If you have two radios this is probably not a high priority but if the 430W was your only radio then that standby is really handy.

Neil
Thank you Neil, that's extremely helpful. I do only have one radio and standby audio would be very convenient.
__________________
RV-9A, 2011, bought flying
IO-320D1A (factory new), C/S
IFR equipped
AFS 5400/3500, G5, IFD440 navigator,
bunch of other stuff
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:53 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.