What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Ben's RV-8 (#84117)

bmellis11

Well Known Member
Sponsor
I have been working on my RV-8 for about a month now and just finished with the horizontal stabilizer, so I thought it would be a good time to officially introduce myself and create a build post that I can update from time to time. I also have an EAA build log (link in signature) that will have all build entries when I get the time to add them.

A little about myself--I live in NYC and am building in a roughly 20’ x 25’ area of the basement of my townhouse. I am an instrument rated pilot and have been interested in aviation my entire life due, in large part, to several great influences. My uncle spent 20 years as a loadmaster on a C-130 crew, took me to my first airshow, and always encouraged me to fly. My grandma’s cousin was a colonel in the Air Force whose claim to fame is that he led a low-level recon mission that got photographic evidence of Soviet surface to air missiles in Cuba during the Cuban missile crisis, for which he received the Distinguished Flying Cross and was featured in Life magazine. And growing up, I enjoyed helping my grandpa, who had his pilot’s license (but said he couldn’t afford to fly and have a wife), build and fly RC airplanes.

When I was 8 years old, my parents took me to an amusement park where I rode the same airplane ride at least 10 times. I went home and immediately began working on a 2x4 and plywood biplane that unfortunately never made it off the ground. Since then, I always wanted to build a plane and now 30 years later I’m much closer to that dream.