What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

need help ident. engine.

bret

Well Known Member
so i am new to lycomings and came across a great deal on a old mooney, ( possable engine doner for my 7A) what should i look fore, thanks. Bret

Mooneys

I have an engine from an early Mooney for my -8. I haven't split the case yet. The very earliest Mooneys were wood wing airplanes and the first couple of years had O-320 engines. Starting somewhere around 1957 or 8 they changed to the O-360-A1A. These are narrow deck engines.

What model/year Mooney are you looking at?

Some money's had o-360-a1f6d engines I think. This engine has the infamous "dual mag" two mags in one case with a single drive.

While this isn't really an issue if you are going to be using one or two electronic ignitions, be aware that the accessory case is different enough that oil filter 90 degree adapters or remote oil filters will not fit. Neither will some vacuum pad mounted alternators such as the b&c sd20 or the plane power unit. The b&c sd8 fits fine.

If these aren't an issue for you, then they could be excellent negotiating points to get the price down.

Ok, just drove out and looked at It, the log book says Lycoming o-360 -A1D l-4416-36. It is also turbo normalized 1965 model, sat for two years in the Nevada high desert. And the thing that got my atention.........$ 2,800.00 for the entire aircraft!

Sounds excellent!

I'd make sure that it has a good pedigree and also trace the owners down thru escrow and Oklahoma City. I'm kind of leery of any deal that good. Minimum you have to do is verify the above and tear down the engine. Also recommend checking the pedigrees on any glass instruments, etc. You don't want to end up with 'hot' parts, etc.

Please let us know how this turns out - you may have found the rare great deal!! Hope so.