What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

SDS fuel flow pull up resistor

agent4573

Well Known Member
Has anyone added a pull up resistor to get their SDS fuel flow output to work with a Garmin GEA24? I've reached out to Garmin to help size it, and after 3 emails they're still asking me who makes my fuel flow transducer. Garmin did confirm they're looking for square wave falling edges on the pulses, and SDS has said they pull that pin to ground for a pulse, but suggested it may need a pull up resistor to get the voltage high enough for Garmin to see the falling edge. I think this is the right answer, but I'm not good at circuit design.

Can any electrical guys chime in on proper resistance and power rating for this application? Thanks!

Last edited:
You may need a scope to see what it's doing but lacking any specs I'd probably start off with 10k and see if that works.
Hard to imagine they have been asked that question before.

Has anyone added a pull up resistor to get their SDS fuel flow output to work with a Garmin GEA24? I've reached out to Garmin to help size it, and after 3 emails they're still asking me who makes my fuel flow transducer. Garmin did confirm they're looking for square wave falling edges on the pulses, and SDS has said they pull that pin to ground for a pulse, but suggested it may need a pull up resistor to get the voltage high enough for Garmin to see the falling edge. I think this is the right answer, but I'm not good at circuit design.

Can any electrical guys chime in on proper resistance and power rating for this application? Thanks!

As this is a 12V circuit, a 5KΩ, 1/4W resistor will work well. It's also the common resistor size that Garmin suggests for pull-down/up in their drawings for other sensor installations.

I didn't install a resistor on my fuel flow installation from the SDS ECU to my GEA 24.