What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Obligatory Introduction

Good morning and thanks for the approval to join this group. After having read the read me first I didn't see a specific place to do an intro post so I thought I would drop it here. I'm a newly minted private pilot having passed my check ride on December 6th and I'm looking forward to learning more about the concept of home built experimentals. I started my training at KHEF and KJYO before a 7 year hiatus and a move to KLEE where I finally got serious about it.

The idea of working on my own aircraft and understanding its operation through the process of building it really interests me. I'm looking at an RV-10 in my future due to the true 4 seat nature fitting our mission profile. Until then I'm going to rent as I build experience.

I'm planning on attending the local EAA meeting later this month if COVID doesn't shut down the meeting.

Welcome!

Welcome to Van’s Airforce! You’ll find us to be a very genial and helpful group. The knowledge repository here is truly mind-boggling, as you will find with more time. Enjoy! Flying experimental aircraft is the most fun you can have with your clothes on!

Welcome to the group. This is the go to place for RV knowledge. At first it will be like drinking from a fire Hose!
The 10 is a great choice.

Keith

You're going to want to go ahead and order the kit - the leadtimes are stretching out!

The 10 is a great choice.

Keith

Well, the 10 is a great airplane.

IMHO, it may not be a great choice for a first time builder to learn on.

Not that folks have not been successful with a 10 as a first time builder.

You need to be honest with yourself as to your knowledge, skills, and determination to follow through with an expensive and years long project.

Have you joined EAA----and a local chapter? Talked to local builders?