What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Any Interest In A Film About Building An RV?

Beyond The Hangar

I'm New Here
Hey Everyone!

First time posting here on VAF! I'm seriously considering building an RV 7 in the near future. I'm also a filmmaker, and am contemplating making a film about the whole experience, as well as exploring more about kit-building in general. Of course it would take a while to produce, but, in the end it would document what it's like for so many of you who are building your own - while hopefully inspiring others to do the same. I'd love to hear your thoughts on this! Who would watch this kind of film? :)

Cheers,
Alan

I think it's a great idea and any builder/ future builder would definitely watch it. I also think videos on building are few and far between which kind of sucks because they are extremely useful in seeing how things are done or not done. Andrew Atalla is the only one that I have seen produce in depth videos about building and they are gold.

I would agree it would be cool, just as long as you aren't approaching it as a way to subsidize your build. It would be a neat project, but unlikely to be a real money-maker. Good luck and welcome!

Chris

How would the film be oriented? As a tips film, or a tutorial or more of an experiential film?

I think one difficulty might be that until you've got some experience you don't know which parts of the construction to emphasize.

Dave

Since I'm documenting my build in detail, I'm thinking of writing a book when I'm done. Maybe that could become a movie. Right now it's a slideshow; I think I'm past 800 slides so far. Lots of drama and human interest in my tale...

Youtube

A quick look at youtube will show the interest in aviaiton related events.

Many people i talk to cannot even imagine building your own plane so a documentary on it would be good likely and saleable to say one of the documentary channels.