What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How did your first toolbox / practice project turn out?

JDBoston

Well Known Member
So I am a newbie in general in the sense of actually doing vs reading. Of course I am a total expert and know everything because I've read lots of builders logs and taken one weekend class... :rolleyes:

So here I am with a completed vans toolbox kit staring at every rookie mistake in the book. Let's see, dimpled one side the wrong way, back riveting slipped off the plate ruining a couple rivets, under dimpled a couple, etc.

Very very humbling. Some if it I am really happy with. But it makes me question myself on proceeding even though I saw things improve as I went on.

What was your experience like with the practice projects? Do the masters of the craft look back at theirs with disbelief on how much they have improved? Need a little confidence boost..

Major lesson for me was slow down.. Of course what I wanted to do was go faster to complete the project :)

We all went through what you are experiencing now. I didn't take a class or make a practice kit. I took my new rivet gun over to my a&p And he showed me how to use the gun and what pressure to set it. Needless to say I drilled out quite a few rivets that were not up to par. You will get enough experience with riveting the skeleton parts before you get to the skins to get pretty comfortable. There is almost nothing that can't be fixed when you mess up. Between all of us here I bet we've made nearly every mistake possible and still ended up with a wonderful airplane. One thing that helped me was switching to a number 2 rivet gun from a 3. Getting the pressure set just right for the size rivet you're using helps a lot too. Just remember we're all here to help and there are no dumb questions. :)