What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Golf bag, will it fit?

WyoDave

Well Known Member
I've been flying my RV6 for 15 years and love it. Except for when traveling with my wife and want to take my golf clubs. I have a light weight carry bag. With the long clubs along the side it's possible. But we're pretty crammed in like sardines with the other luggage. I'm considering what I want to build next. I really don't need more than 2 seats, but could use a LOT more baggage space. How do golf clubs fit in a 14?
Maybe I should keep my 6 and build a Bearhawk 5. But then I'll be maintaining 3 airplanes:eek:

This is a future use case for me as well, so I'm curious of any answers. In fact, it was one of my "mission" items that led me to selecting the -14, so I hope it's doable.

IMO it would be difficult with 2 in the airplane. Not impossible with a single pilot/seat down.

RV-10 probably a better option for 2 + golf clubs.

bags

I've seen several RVs modified to carry golf bags (even ski equipment). Plenty of room to expand baggage compartment. Might be a consid.

In my -7 I can get my bag (a standard carry bag) and all clubs into the baggage area. Remove every club longer than a 5 iron, and they can fit (just barely) diagonally.

With two bags, the long clubs need to ride up front next to/between the seats. we were only going about 20 min flight so it wasn't too bad. Next year I'm planning to cut and reinforce a small hole in the rear baggage big enough for 6 shafts to fit through so everything can ride in the back.

With two sets of clubs, it would need to just be a day trip or maybe just one night with minimal other luggage as things are very full with just the clubs.

Last edited:
I’ve thought about doing this: cut rows of round holes in your baggage bulkhead for golf bag tubes -

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Player-S...dKoetJ_j9wHbyAfXPUMaArykEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds