What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

fiberglass work on the canopy skirt

tonyjohnson

Well Known Member
I did not do a good job of aligning my canopy skirt to the frame before I drilled holes in the skirt. I will need to fill the holes and redo the positioning of the skirt.

I also need to close up the hole I opened for the latch, which is perhaps .5 in in diameter.

I searched the archives but did not find any information on this specific topic. I know that Vans uses two types of fiberglass on our airplanes, epoxy for the cowling and polyester for the wingtips.......but I don't know what material is used for the skirt although it appears to be epoxy. My kit is old, from 1998.

Is there anything I need to know about filling the holes other than mixing up west system epoxy and smearing in into the holes? How about the .5 inch hole, does that need a mixture with microballoons?

I am just getting into the fiberglass portion of the project and have a lot to learn about it.

I searched the archives but did not find any information on this specific topic.

You have got to be kidding.

Is there anything I need to know about filling the holes other than mixing up west system epoxy and smearing in into the holes?

Add cabosil so it doesn't run out of the holes before cure.

How about the .5 inch hole, does that need a mixture with microballoons?

A hole that big needs a scarfed patch. Search "scarf joint".

I am just getting into the fiberglass portion of the project and have a lot to learn about it.

Moldless Composite Sandwich Aircraft Construction

http://www.amazon.com/Moldless-Compo.../dp/B000BUJP5A

...Vans uses two types of fiberglass on our airplanes, epoxy for the cowling and polyester for the wingtips.......but I don't know what material is used for the skirt although it appears to be epoxy...