What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

spins in an older RV-6A

freegespeed

I have heard, but not definitively, that spins are not a good idea in an RV6A built before the era of the the larger vertical stabilizer and rudder. Does anyone have any helpful information about this subject? Thanks.

spins in RV-6

This is on Van's site.

http://vansaircraft.com/pdf/sb02-6-1.pdf

Have you read it? What is most interesting is that the -7 with the bent trailing edge rudder seemed worse than the -6. This is why Van offered -7 builders the RV-9's bigger (and double flush riveted trailing edge) rudder.

Thanks for the link

Thanks for the response. Thats a surprise about the RV7 being less spin worthy then the RV6. I will probably just do insipient spin recoveries as a matter of practice, rather then full blown spins.

Spins in older RV-6

Hi there,

It has to be said first that I am no expert on spins and that, if given the choice, I try and avoid them......also, I have not spun an RV-6A, only the RV-6..... if you accept this caveat, here is my experience:

On each of the RV-6's that I have been involved with (4) we have carried out spins as part of the Phase 1 test program. We have found that when spins are carried out within the recommended aerobatic weight and C of G, the RV-6 is a bit like the Cessna 152 in that it needs to be induced into the spin with a bit of heavy rudder off the top of a stall, however unlike the Cessna 152 the spin is not sedate. You will find that it will take about 2 to 3 turns to properly develop and with the application of normal recovery technique it will take you about 1 to 1.5 turns to recover once action has been taken.