VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV Ongoing Maintenance Issues
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2013, 01:58 AM
turbo's Avatar
turbo turbo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stuart, FL /Hartford, CT/Virgin Gorda,BVI
Posts: 3,254
Exclamation Problem with sticking throttle cable

I really need some help here. The original throttle cable lasted 13 years. It then developed a problem where it would bind up at idle. I replaced it with the same cable, a A-750 acs. It lasted a month and ended up doing the same thing. I installed another one yesterday and it bound up at idle on the first run-up. Any thoughts on this problem. Thanks
__________________
TURBO YES =VAF= Payed Jan2022
Ed D'Arcy
RV6-A 5,400+ hrs, R-44 1,700 hrs, Helicycle traded for 33 FFR coupe, 300 young eagles flown
Stuart, Fl / East Hampton,Ct / Virgin Gorda, BVI - villa sold.
VAF #840 EAA AOPA FAC FABA QB SPA
addicted pickle ball player
https://i.postimg.cc/tn3h4svg/IMG-3101.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2013, 02:18 AM
gasman gasman is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 4,341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbo View Post
I really need some help here. The original throttle cable lasted 13 years. It then developed a problem where it would bind up at idle. I replaced it with the same cable, a A-750 acs. It lasted a month and ended up doing the same thing. I installed another one yesterday and it bound up at idle on the first run-up. Any thoughts on this problem. Thanks
Are you sure the problem is the cable? I would look elsewhere.......
__________________
VAF #897 Warren Moretti
2021 =VAF= Dues PAID
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2013, 09:08 AM
Bob Axsom Bob Axsom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,685
Default I had precisely the same problem

In December I went to Fort Bragg, CA and worked with Red Hamilton to rebuild my engine. While the engine was removed I decided to replace the vernier cable that I installed when my wife and I built our RV-6A with a friction lock cable to satisfy the formation and Reno requirements. I flew home to Northwest Arkansas and all was well. I changed the plane to race configuration and was going to fuel up for the first high performance speed test but after I started the engine it was running too fast and I pulled back aggressively on the throttle to slow it down. It bound so hard that I could not free it from the cockpit even by pounding on it.

Red bought the cable through Wicks but it was an ACS cable. I returned it directly to Wicks priority mail with the tracking number 9505510617543051509906 on 2/22/13 and requested failure analysis that I would pay for with no strings attached. I posted my experience on the YAHOO Group - SARL site and perhaps through that stimulation I got an e-mail from a Wicks employee asking about the return because he said they couldn't find it. I gave him the tracking number and shipping date, etc. and never heard from them again even though I followed up with another email later. That cable had a slot on the end of the outer sleeve for the remote sleeve termination instead of the double nut and lock washer method and threaded sleeve of the original cable. I ordered a replacement through Van's which has the threaded sleeve and nut termination configuration of the original vernier cable and I have had no problem. I have just written it off and moved on but you are not alone in your experience. If you go to the YAHOO Group SARL site you will find several messages on that failure with inputs from others that are familiar with the problem.

Bob Axsom

P.S. I have the original letter in Word form with photographs that I can send you if you like via e-mail. The letter is 12 pages long and includes photographs. It exceeds the VAF size limit even without the photographs.

BA

Last edited by Bob Axsom : 04-14-2013 at 09:22 AM. Reason: Added P.S.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2013, 09:13 AM
Pat Hatch's Avatar
Pat Hatch Pat Hatch is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 915
Default

Turbo, as I mentioned at SNF, I would check your carb linkage--you mentioned that you had--but I'm wondering if something isn't loose inside your carb or servo, forget which you have. Intermittent sticking butterfly? Pretty obvious it isn't the cable at this point, wouldn't you agree?
__________________
Pat Hatch
RV-4 (Gone to RV heaven)
RV-6 (N44PH - Flying)
RV-7 (Sold)
RV-8 (Builder & Avionics Installer)
www.phaviation.com Trim Relay Boards/Flap Actuators
www.pathatch.com (Photography)
Track Me

Last edited by Pat Hatch : 04-14-2013 at 09:17 AM. Reason: Grammar
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2013, 09:35 AM
Bob Axsom Bob Axsom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,685
Default My failure was the cable sticking

I am kind of familiar with failure analysis and destroying the evidence so when I had my failure I removed the cowl, removed the AN3 bolt hardware attaching it to the throttle lever without disturbing any piece of the failed system. With the control cable connected to nothing it was still stuck. Then by grabbing the end of the cable and pulling on it I was able to overcome the bound condition with force applied in tension.

Believe me when this happens to you it gets your attention.

Bob Axsom
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2013, 10:12 AM
zilik's Avatar
zilik zilik is offline
VAF Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pine Junction, CO
Posts: 657
Default

Turbo,

Have you done a post mortem on the cables and found the culprit. Check your engine to battery and airframe grounds. Years ago the shift cable in my 72 Trans Am kept failing; sticking in park. Turned out the ground to the engine was bad and cable took over the duties of grounding the engine. The cable would slowly weld itself to the sheath.
__________________
Gary "Seismo" Zilik
Pine Junction, Colorado
RV-6A N99PZ S/N 22993 SOLD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2013, 11:45 AM
Pat Hatch's Avatar
Pat Hatch Pat Hatch is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 915
Default

Gary brings up a real good point. Bob, too. I guess if you release your cable linkage at the throttle arm and it's still sticking, it has to be the cable. I had the braided engine ground come off on my RV-4 years ago, and when it happened, it melted the sheath on all 3 cables, pretty dramatic. (The braid just fell out of the crimp on the engine ground.) Now I run two engine grounds for that reason. If for any reason you're getting high resistance at your engine ground (e.g., corroded connection) your ground will find another path, which unfortunately is often the control cables. I wonder if your replacement control cable is somehow being fried by a faulty ground somewhere. Worth a look. You asked for ideas!
__________________
Pat Hatch
RV-4 (Gone to RV heaven)
RV-6 (N44PH - Flying)
RV-7 (Sold)
RV-8 (Builder & Avionics Installer)
www.phaviation.com Trim Relay Boards/Flap Actuators
www.pathatch.com (Photography)
Track Me
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2013, 09:58 AM
turbo's Avatar
turbo turbo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stuart, FL /Hartford, CT/Virgin Gorda,BVI
Posts: 3,254
Default

here is the final scoop on the throttle issue. the cable was mounted to close to the motor mount and got bent. it now has 1/2 inch clearance. thanks for all the input.


__________________
TURBO YES =VAF= Payed Jan2022
Ed D'Arcy
RV6-A 5,400+ hrs, R-44 1,700 hrs, Helicycle traded for 33 FFR coupe, 300 young eagles flown
Stuart, Fl / East Hampton,Ct / Virgin Gorda, BVI - villa sold.
VAF #840 EAA AOPA FAC FABA QB SPA
addicted pickle ball player
https://i.postimg.cc/tn3h4svg/IMG-3101.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2013, 10:01 AM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 16,317
Default

Turbo, thanks for closing the loop on this one.
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2013, 10:21 AM
Bob Axsom Bob Axsom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,685
Default Could you provide a few details on cause and effect and failure mode?

Could you provide a few details on cause, effect and failure mode? I have written mine off as an undiagnosed failure (since I sent it back to the seller and no longer have it to analyze myself) but I would still like to know the details of the failures.

Bob Axsom
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:09 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.