What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New Pilot, RV-10 or Bonanza or Turbo Lance II

RVnTN

I'm New Here
I am a new pilot (a massive 15 hours logged, but in pretty nice aircraft (mostly Maule M7 with some Bonanza, RV10 and tin can (Cessna 152) hours) who wants to buy a plane that I will ultimately be flying to train in. I am going to get one sooner than later, so why not sooner and really get to know the aircraft?

My mission is both pleasure and cross country. I am 28 years old, I have a wife and 2.5 year old son (who both love flying and support this more than any of my other wide range of eclectic hobbies). I am not a small person. I am 6 foot 2, 250ish, large frame.

I have a great mentor with 40+ years of flight and 11,000 plus hours who really knows aircraft and we have found great deals on equally great aircraft and narrowed down my choices to the following three.

I realize this IS a RV10 forum. But I have read similar threads and people have given many unbiased answers, which is what I am looking for. Any aircraft I wind up in will be well equipped from a digital avionics point of view, and the RV10 I am interested in already is. So, here are the details and my thoughts on the aircraft:

Beechcraft F33A Bonanza - 100,000 - 1977, 1950 TT, 405 SFNew engine, decent avionics (Needs a 430 or 530 garmin) - In annual now.

Turbo Lance II - 110,000 - 2000 TT, 900 SFNew engine, I love the layout of the instrumentation and the passanger area, nice interior, equipped already for O2. Already has a Garmin 530, maybe just a little bit to spend in avionics but not required. I can probaby get annual at this price tossed in.

RV 10 - 130,000 - 2007 model, 400ish hours on the frame and 1700 hours on the engine, nice avionics. 260 HP Engine. Engine has great compression, even though its near the end of its factory rated service life.