VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 09-01-2015, 06:18 AM
rwayne rwayne is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 119
Default 430W to 650

I'm thinking of upgrading my 430W to a 650. I understand the plugs have to be re-pinned. Does the 650 use the same pin type as the 430 or will I have to cut the old pins off and replace with new ones for the 650 plugs?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2015, 06:40 AM
rleffler's Avatar
rleffler rleffler is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Delaware, OH (KDLZ)
Posts: 4,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwayne View Post
I'm thinking of upgrading my 430W to a 650. I understand the plugs have to be re-pinned. Does the 650 use the same pin type as the 430 or will I have to cut the old pins off and replace with new ones for the 650 plugs?
To be honest, I don't remember what pins are used on the 430. I believe that all the pins on the 650 are the high density type or at least the pins I used.
__________________
Bob Leffler
N410BL - RV10 Flying
http://mykitlog.com/rleffler
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2015, 07:20 AM
Raymo's Avatar
Raymo Raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond Hill, GA (KLHW)
Posts: 2,338
Default

The 430 has one high density connector and two standard density connectors. I don't know what the 650 has.

No need to "cut" the connectors off the 430. Just de-pin (after labeling) and re-pin for the 650 as needed.
__________________
Ray
RV-7A - Slider - N495KL - First flt 27 Jan 17
O-360-A4M w/ AFP FM-150 FI, Dual PMags, Vetterman Trombone Exh, SkyTech starter, BandC Alt (PP failed after 226 hrs)
Catto 3 blade NLE, FlightLines Interior, James cowl, plenum & intake, Anti-Splat -14 seat mod and nose gear support
All lines by TSFlightLines (aka Hoser)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2015, 09:11 AM
N941WR's Avatar
N941WR N941WR is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 12,887
Default

Garmin did not make the upgrade a plug and play job. However, Avidyne did make their's compatible with the Garmin trays and plugs.

http://www.avidyne.com/products/Ifd540/
__________________
Bill R.
RV-9 (Yes, it's a dragon tail)
O-360 w/ dual P-mags
Build the plane you want, not the plane others want you to build!
SC86 - Easley, SC
www.repucci.com/bill/baf.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2015, 02:18 PM
Bill Boyd's Avatar
Bill Boyd Bill Boyd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Landing field "12VA"
Posts: 1,650
Default

You can find HOP-ALONG without one of those fancy IFR navigators. Just do it.






Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2015, 04:48 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymo View Post
The 430 has one high density connector and two standard density connectors. I don't know what the 650 has.

No need to "cut" the connectors off the 430. Just de-pin (after labeling) and re-pin for the 650 as needed.
Actually, the 430 has 2 high density connectors with pins (male) in the back shell with an optional third of the same kind, then one standard density female connector. I'm not sure what goes in the female connector, but I'm pretty sure it's the audio connector.
__________________
Jesse Saint
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:47 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.