What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New kit builders heads up

Weefle

Well Known Member
So I’m relatively new to building an RV 10. I’m almost through the empanage. I have the QB wings on order and a slow build fuselage showing up one of these days.

So here’s the heads up. I go to order the finishing kit thinking that’s the end of the 4 kits. Not so....hidden in the catalog on the Vans web page is what’s called the firewall forward kit. So if you think you can build an RV with the 4 kits as laid out on the order forms ...think again. You’ll still have to fork out another at least 7k for the FWF kit.

Seems to me they could be more open with potential customers so we would have the full cost of the build upfront.

Ok that’s my rant for the day.

Keith

They're plenty open about it. The FWF kit they offer is not required to finish your aircraft. It is a package they put together to better serve their customers over the customer sourcing all these parts individually. You and every other builder will be paying for these parts in the packaged kit offered or if separate. Oh but wait there's more. Don't forget the interior, instruments and avionics.

So I’m relatively new to building an RV 10. I’m almost through the empanage. I have the QB wings on order and a slow build fuselage showing up one of these days.

So here’s the heads up. I go to order the finishing kit thinking that’s the end of the 4 kits. Not so....hidden in the catalog on the Vans web page is what’s called the firewall forward kit. So if you think you can build an RV with the 4 kits as laid out on the order forms ...think again. You’ll still have to fork out another at least 7k for the FWF kit.

Seems to me they could be more open with potential customers so we would have the full cost of the build upfront.

Keith

FWF