What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Run away trim

Jkkinz

Well Known Member
I was talking to a local Airbus pilot today about my 7A. I told him that I was installing two axis electric trim. He asked if there was also manual trim in case the trim motor goes haywire and forces the trim into full deflection. I told him that the Rv's only have either electric or manual, not both. He was flabbergasted that there was not both manual and electric like the commercial built have. (eg Cessna)

That got me to thinking. I have been building for 3 years and reading the forum for longer than that. I cannot remember reading about anyone having a run away problem with the Ray Allen electric trim on a RV. Have any of you high or low timers had any problems with the electric trim motors supplied by Vans? If so, what was the cause, results of the malfunction and forces necessary to maintain control of your out of trim RV?

Just pondering
Jim Kinsey
7A Fuselage

Thanks to light control forces on an RV, you can easily overpower full trim deflection. No biggie if it ever happened. It is a bit mean at higher speeds but no problem in the pattern.

Last edited:
Runaway trim

It's not a serious issue with an RV. But, just in case,I ran my trim and autopilot circuits thru switches by the throttle. If either acts up, I can remove power instantly. In other aircraft this is done by pulling a circuit breaker but since mine are behind the panel I can't do that.

My approach was to put my trim on my main buss (i.e. not on my essential bus). If the trim runs away I'll just engage the e-buss. Now, that won't get me back to level trim but it will stop the runaway.