What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Rudder TE Frustrations

PHXflyer

I'm ordering my 3rd rudder assembly for my 14 kit tomorrow. Why? Because the first rudder I built the trailing edge skins bowed outwards at the bottom and top end, as well as having gaps between the skins and TE itself, and the TE came out wavy. I'm a beginner, notwithstanding the fact that my VS came out flawless, so I had no issue ordering a new rudder and figured, since the rudder is one of the more complex components to build on this bird, I was all too happy to learn from previous mistakes. However, in speaking with the Van's advisor at the factory before I ordered the second kit, he said that the 3M VRB tape I used was a reason the corners of the skins may have bowed out, since it wasn't "sticky" enough, and he said that's why some people use RTV or the material used to seal the fuel tanks. I didn't want to mess with either of that stuff so early in my build, and I found a VRB double-sided tape that was thick. I had an "aha!" moment, thinking that was the VRB tape I should've used, and that tape would go on easy and do what the RTV or sealant material does. Wrong. When I went to rivet my TE this morning, the heads on the squeezer (I had ordered the angled heads made for the TE from Cleaveland Tools) just created huge craters in my TE skin because the skins "sank" into the underlying VRB material. I'm really annoyed because notwithstanding the TE issue I now have, this rudder came out flawless otherwise.

I have two questions for the learned minds on this forum: