What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

IFR questions

Keith Williams

Well Known Member
I have finished the fuselage kit and am waiting for the finish kit. While waiting I have been thinking about the panel. I plan to license the RV12 as EAB. I want to build it just once, with several changes from plans ? mostly things I have picked up here

My questions are about IFR. I am thinking of replacing the SL40 with a GPS/COM (GTN635 or GNC420W) and adding backups (Dynon D-6 and panel mounted handheld com).

I have been flying IFR (sort of) in an RV6 I finished in 1999. It has steam gauges, two nav/coms, IFR enroute GPS and Tru Trak autopilot. I say ?sort of? IFR because I have set high limits, basically using the rating to fly in marginal VFR and to get through cloud layers. That said, three questions:

1. I have zero experience with WAAS GPS operations. But would like to simplify things by just using waypoints, instead of figuring out where I am using the CDI/OBS, dials and needles. Do those of you with WAAS GPS experience see a problem with omitting the VOR receiver for the flying I have described?
2. Is a heated pitot really needed? I have one on the RV6 but the IFR Cherokee 140 I owned for 12 years before building the RV6 didn?t. Just wondering. I do not fly IMC in below freezing temps so ice is not an issue.
3. Would I need to make changes in the 912ULS? I am wondering what is different about the 912S which is certified and used in IFR aircraft.
4. Can someone point me to suggestions for a good way to mount the handheld com? My plan is to fly the EAB test hours with just the handheld before buying the IFR stuff. I want to get some experience in the 12 to see how I feel about IFR in it. (If IFR does not feel right I will just buy the SL40).

I really appreciate the help with the project you all have provided on this forum. Thanks in advance for any suggestions on these questions.

Keith W.