What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

GNX 375 & G3X Integration

hom409

I have been using my new panel on my F1 Rocket for the past 4 months. The panel was professionally built by Trilogy Avionics out of Chilliwack BC. The Panel is truly amazing but the G3X disappoints when it comes to the interoperability with the Garmin GNX375.

My panel has two G3X Touch (10" Horizontal and 7" Vertical). I love the 7" MFD which allows me to flip through the various pages and menu without changing my PFD. Trilogy installed a remote audio panel and remote radio to save panel space. Additionally installed in the Rocket is the GNC255A for Nav/Comm and a GNX375 (ADS-B in/out). The upgrade included the full EIS from Garmin and the GMC507 Auto Pilot controller. Lastly I needed a G5 for standby instrument. For those wondering why the GNC255 when you have a GNX 375; In Canada you require dual independant navigation source. A single 650 or 750 does not meet our minimum equipment requirements.

Here comes the Pet Peeve! Why on earth can I use my IPad and Foreflight to control my Garmin GNX375 yet the G3X can't do it. The IPad once connected can change the flight plans, input departure and arrival procedures to include the various transition. I can select any approach via any transition and even modify them later. This IPad made by a different company using a 3rd party app can do more with the GNX375 than my very own Garmin G3X.

I understand there is a workaround which provides limited ability to change some things on the 375 but it means I need to disconnect the external GPS to switch over to the G3X internal GPS. Once the changes are made, I can then revert to the external GPS to re-activate the GNX375. The G3X will not load a departure or arriva procedure. You cannot use the G3X to load a full procedure approach.