What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Minimum safe runway length

Camillo

Well Known Member
I am based in an airstrip 50 minutes far from home (2300' long).

I was offered to buy a share on a field with a 1500' runway, closer to my home.

Both are grass.

I was wondering if with an RV9A the shorter runway would be a problem or if with a few hours (i.e.: approx. 20 hours) one can safely land.

I understand that this depends on personal skills (I have 250 hours on GA airplanes on complex), but for a medium skilled pilot would this be a problem?

Thanks.
Camillo

Last edited by a moderator:
It depends on a lot of things. I've been flying my -6 off a 1500' strip here in Texas for over 15 years. Initially with a "tired" 150 hp engine and wood prop and grass. But I have clear approaches at both ends. Now even with asphalt many RV pilots still won't come in here. It has mostly to do with your skills and comfort level. Another factor is runway orientation. Sometimes a strong crosswind can really be a problem.

1500 is plenty, provided that you don't have to clear any obstacles on the approach end. Still, you probably would do well with the C/S prop. The -9, as you know, likes to float. You just have to pay attention to approach speeds and you'll have no trouble at all.

Camillo,

I'll probably get flamed for my opinion, so you take it as such....only my opinion. It is worth what you paid for it. NOTHING!!!!