Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

VAF on Twitter:
@VansAirForceNet

Old 09-19-2022, 11:54 PM

Default Recent insurance info

Does anyone have any recent experience with Insurance they would be willing to share? I am considering an RV-9A build and I am trying to figure out costs.

I am a relatively new pilot at my current rate of hour building I estimate that by the time I would have my RV finished I would have 300-400 hours and my instrument rating.

I was originally going to build a Sling TSI but when I went out for quotes most of the insurance companies declined to quote me for experience (said to check back when I had in excess of 1000 hours) the two that did quote me said $5300 per year and $8300 per year which is a bit out of my range.

Thanks
Old 09-20-2022, 12:38 AM

Why not go right to a good insurance broker? Arthur Gallagher is a VAF advertiser. Ask for Leah Ringeisen, have a nice chat.
Any EAB is likely to be expensive (my guess, $4000) for the first year if you have 300 hours total but zero hours in type. In fact, the insurance company may mandate 2 to 10 hours of training. After that, less than $2K, at the current time. (Hull coverage, plus $100K per passenger liability, $1 million total liability).

Last edited by BobTurner : 09-20-2022 at 12:48 AM.
Old 09-20-2022, 05:40 AM

Arion Lightning, built 2007, 700 hours total time. My wife, student pilot. 5 hours in type. Instructor 700 hours, 15 hours in type. Hull coverage ($46500) for $6800. Liability only (no ground operation covered, nor theft or coverage for the hangar failing in a tornado) $2800/year. Needless to say I declined to participate in that rip off.
Old 09-20-2022, 05:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptPausert View Post
Does anyone have any recent experience with Insurance they would be willing to share? I am considering an RV-9A build and I am trying to figure out costs.

Thanks