Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV General Discussion/News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-04-2020, 08:44 AM
unfluencer

Thumbs up What did you do with your RV this weekend? (10/3/2020 - 10/4/2020)

...getting it started.
v/r,dr
  • Part time: Supporting Crew Member CAE EMB-505 Level D Sim @ KDFW.
Old 10-04-2020, 10:13 AM

This weekend, I'll finish up my transition training in my new (to me) RV-9A. It took me 5 hours and about 20 touch-and-goes (I'm a rusty pilot). What a fantastic airplane!

So...my instructor is happy and my insurance company is happy (if an insurance company is ever happy). I'm happy too, but still a lot to learn. I can handle the airplane OK, but now I need to get more familiar with the capabilities of my full-IFR panel (430W, AFS 4500/3400, AP, and G5). It will be quite awhile before I'll ever be filing IFR in this plane, but I do want to understand the whole system in the event I'm ever dumb enough to get stuck on top or inadvertently fly into IMC.

I just replaced a dead ADI with a G5. I now have three different altimeters and the last step in this RV rehab project is a pitot-static leak test and IFR certification for all three altimeters. They all agree at various altitudes, but I want to get the system certified. My instructor is taking the plane back to his own airport today so his avionics guys can get that done on Tuesday. When it comes back on Wednesday, next step will be pulling the interior for a deep cleaning of seats and carpet...something I've been itching to do since we ferried it back. I'll install the Anti-Splat foot-bar thing in an attempt to spare the interior any further abuse. I may need to look at aileron push-rod boots too....I noticed some cold air intrusion flying on this rather cool weekend.

My first excursion into a fast low-wing airplane, and first experience with Experimental aircraft. What a blast!