VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 07-11-2022, 02:16 PM
JDBoston JDBoston is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 325
Default Turning on/off a remote camera

For those that are using outside mounted Gopro (or other action cams), what are you using to turn on and off your tail camera or anything else mounted outside?

Since they don't have great battery life and I don't want to record all three hours of a flight I assume people turn them on and off remotely.
__________________
Jeff

RV-14A
Status: Tail mostly complete, Wings complete(ish), Working on: Fuselage Kit (final chapters), Finish kit in house, Engine ordered
Location:MA
http://vans14a.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2022, 03:44 PM
BH1166 BH1166 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Eatonton Georgia
Posts: 754
Default

GoPro has a remote
__________________
Butch
RV6A Purchased N72TX
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2022, 03:59 PM
Dan 57's Avatar
Dan 57 Dan 57 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: LSZF
Posts: 1,031
Default

Insta360 mounted in the VS fairing. It has it’s own power supply since the battery will not last, the more so in the cold…
Control works pretty good with wifi using the iPad mini
__________________
- ain't the Destination, but the Journey -

www.aerofun.ch

RV-6.9 #25685, slider, O-360-A3A (carb/dual Lightspeed II), MTV-12-B, HB-YLL owner & lover
RV-4 #2062 HB-YVZ airframe builder
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2022, 04:31 PM
BillL's Avatar
BillL BillL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central IL
Posts: 6,733
Default

I set my Hero8 to "never-turn-off" and then initiate connection. It has seemed to work with that setting. I have been dragging my feet on making power available either via battery or USB extension, but that unseals the battery cover.

I did end up with a corrupt data card after a beautiful tour of Mt Rainier. Now, remove battery then data card, insert new card and new battery. That has worked.

Battery life is reduced in cool ambients.
__________________
Bill
RV-7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2022, 04:43 AM
YellerDaisy's Avatar
YellerDaisy YellerDaisy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mountain Southwest
Posts: 230
Default

Video description of my equipment here: https://youtu.be/8OEosxVJsG0

I've not had much success getting all GoPro cameras to turn on from the remote (after being turned off from the remote) so I leave them on (but not recording). Obviously this presents a time limitation when running on internal battery.
__________________
JD
RV-4 - 160HP O-320 - Sensenich GA
RV-3B - O-320 - "Daisy" (sold)
http://jdfinley.com
Videos
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2022, 09:08 AM
jneves's Avatar
jneves jneves is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 235
Default

Aside from the remote, you can also use your phone as a remote. Note you cant turn it off completely, but you can start/stop recording and it will go into sleep mode.
__________________
Johnny

N455DM - RV-6A - Bought Flying - 2021
Tip Up Canopy
IO-360-A2B
FP 66" Catta 3 blade Carbon
IFR - 2 Garmin G5s - 430W - GFC500
JPI EMS-350 to monitor the temps
N89WD - Flight Design CTSW - Sold 2021
Donation Happily Made!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:16 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.