VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 02-18-2021, 06:17 AM
dweyant dweyant is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: 07TS
Posts: 491
Default G3X Touch and GTN650

I have a Dual screen G3X Touch with a GTN650.

Something changed on my 650 about a year ago with regards to the database updated. Now every time I power up the unit it wants to reinstall all of the databases. Iíve tried reformatting the card, redownloading everything, etc.

Everything works properly so it hasnít been a big issue, but it is a bit annoying and Iíd like to figure out what is going on.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

-Dan
__________________
Dan Weyant
RV-9A N96KD
Done and Flying 4/30/2015
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2021, 07:32 AM
gfb gfb is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 756
Default

Have you tried emailing g3xpert@garmin.com ?

You must be the most patient person I know, I usually get annoyed at something not working right the second time it happens, not a year later :-D
__________________
---
RV-9A - started 01/2015, completed 07/19/2018, 500hrs 03/14/2020
RV-10 - started 04/2020
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2021, 07:42 AM
dweyant dweyant is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: 07TS
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gfb View Post
Have you tried emailing g3xpert@garmin.com ?

You must be the most patient person I know, I usually get annoyed at something not working right the second time it happens, not a year later :-D
I did just email them this morning as well.

As far as patience, more of lazy than patience. It irritates me every time I fly, but by the time I've landed I tend to forget about it until the next flight .

-Dan
__________________
Dan Weyant
RV-9A N96KD
Done and Flying 4/30/2015
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2021, 08:39 AM
bjdecker's Avatar
bjdecker bjdecker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 632
Default Force it...

Dan,

From the 650 Part 23 install manual --

"Alternatively, the databases can be updated in Configuration mode via the Updates page. The GTN, by default, will only update to effective databases. If loading databases that are not yet effective, or if the GTN GPS time is out-of-date, press and hold the dual-concentric knob during power-up to install all database updates from the data card."

Brian
__________________
Brian Decker
Retired Firmware Guy and Airplane Builder

2020 RV-14 QB -- Under construction - Tailcone & Empennage Complete.
2018 RV-7 QB -- Built, Flying
2007 RV-7 QB -- Built, Drowned, Resurrected and flying
1998 RV-8 QB -- Started, Sold
1986 Mooney 205SE
1980 Mooney 231

Aided and abetted building a number of other RV's.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2021, 10:52 AM
Longez's Avatar
Longez Longez is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 196
Post

Dan,

Not sure why you are seeing this issue, but one solution might be to do like I do and keep 3 SD cards. One for flying, one for database updates, and one for software updates.

For a GTN 650, you would need to keep a copy of the seldom changed terrain database on the "flying" card, but nothing else.

My GNX 375 loads all the databases in internal memory, so it is not even necessary to have the terrain database on the "flying" card, (or even fly with an SD card), but I use the flying card for occasional GNX 375 screen shots.

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.