VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.






VAF on Twitter:
@VansAirForceNet

  #1  
Old 12-01-2022, 06:12 PM
Kupde Kupde is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Tampa,Fl
Posts: 64
Default Radio Static

Well, Iím hoping that some really smart person can figure this one outÖ. About a year or so ago I started having intermittent radio static across some frequencies. I have 3 G3X touch with a GTN650 comm1 and a GTR 200 Comm 2 and a GMA 245 audio panel. It sounds like the squelch needs to be adjusted but the G3X touch has auto squelch. Its loud enough that it is very uncomfortable. On long cross country flights it may only happen on one frequency. For example yesterday I flew from Colorado Springs to Carson City, Nv and it only happened on one ATC frequency. Itís across both radios and when I turn off the audio panel, it still comes through the GTN 650. I tried seeing if it was in some frequency range but I donít see any pattern. In fact it changes, for example, last week I flew into Charlotte, NC and I had heavy static on the approach frequency, but the next day when I flew out I had no static on the very same frequency. I think it started when I changed out my magnetos for PMAGs but Brad claims that there isnít a problem. I would appreciate any suggestions on how to solve this one.

Kevin
RV-10
Carson City, NV
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2022, 07:28 PM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 4,024
Default

New problem or problem from the start?

Look to the basics as the first steps. For example:
- Put an antenna analyzer on each antenna and feed line from that antenna. Get a real analyzer from a Ham Radio operator.
- Noise there when only one radio has power?
- Pull the breakers on all stuff other than one radio. Noise still there? If not, such one breaker at a time and monitor for noise. Here such things as LED NAV/Strobes and USB charging ports are notorious for generating RFI.
- Noise only with engine running? If so, add a power supply to replace the alternator to keep buss voltage at ~14.2vdc and see if the noise is still there or not.

If you are sure all was well until you installed the pMag, assume the pMag is just fine and look at what you might have changed or disturbed. Look closely at your ignition switch wiring (if you have one of those horrible things…).

Keep good notes so you don’t go chasing our tail.
Carl

Last edited by Carl Froehlich : 12-01-2022 at 07:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2022, 07:35 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 8,689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kupde View Post
ÖÖ. I think it started when I changed out my magnetos for PMAGs Ö..

Kevin
RV-10
Carson City, NV
Next time it happens try running just left ignition, then just right. If one or the other fixes it then you know where your problem is.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:37 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.