VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:42 AM
Mark Dickens's Avatar
Mark Dickens Mark Dickens is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Collierville, TN (KFYE)
Posts: 1,475
Default Dynon AHRS Mounting Location

Need some help in finalizing the mounting location for a Dynon AHRS (Skyview). Since the unit has the magnetometer in it, it has to be separated from ferrous materials and the only location I can come up with that meets this requirement and allows access for maintenance is aft of the baggage area. I am thinking about building a shelf from one longeron (the middle one) across to the other.

Any thoughts, pro or con about this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:58 AM
mnrvdude mnrvdude is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minneapolis suburb
Posts: 9
Default

Mark, that is what I did. I can show you a pic when I get home but the middle longeron works well. I mounted two ADAHRS units onto two pieces of angle stock. I used non ferrous hardware to screw them to the longerons. I am not flying yet but I believe I have addressed the distance for magnetic interference issue sufficiently.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2012, 11:05 AM
skyking902001's Avatar
skyking902001 skyking902001 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gunter, TX
Posts: 337
Default

Mark, here is a link to how I intend to mount my ADAHRS unit. I am using only one unit, but there is enough room for two.

http://www.mykitlog.com/users/displa...=139155&row=78

Steve
Skyking902001
RV-8 fuse
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2012, 11:20 AM
Mark Dickens's Avatar
Mark Dickens Mark Dickens is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Collierville, TN (KFYE)
Posts: 1,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skyking902001 View Post
Mark, here is a link to how I intend to mount my ADAHRS unit. I am using only one unit, but there is enough room for two.

http://www.mykitlog.com/users/displa...=139155&row=78

Steve
Skyking902001
RV-8 fuse
Interfering with the final riveting was one of my concerns, but I guess a Cherry rivet would get the job done. There just aren't many places to put this thing are there? I had thought about putting it further forward so I could get to it for maintenance, but your location gets it farther away from the bellcrank area and any autopilot servo. I just might move this back like you've done. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2012, 11:32 AM
mnrvdude mnrvdude is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minneapolis suburb
Posts: 9
Default

Mark, I didn't put mine back as far as Steve did. I'm about 1 to 1.5 feet behind the rear bag wall. Like you say, you need to get to it for maint. Final riveting will be no prob if you use screws to fasten the angles to longerons. Bob
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2012, 02:17 PM
dwrichey's Avatar
dwrichey dwrichey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Reedley, California
Posts: 85
Default

Here is how I did it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2012, 02:40 PM
RV8MW RV8MW is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: CLINTON,NC
Posts: 109
Default

MARK,

There is a picture on my kitlog web page click on all and go to 2-12-2011.
__________________
MIKE WARREN
RV8 N184MW RESERVED
TMX-IO360 REDGOLD,HARTZELL CS
CLINTON N.C.
www.mykitlog.com/mwarren
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2012, 02:55 PM
Buggsy2's Avatar
Buggsy2 Buggsy2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 565
Default

Here's a related thread.
__________________
Ralph Finch
RV-9A QB-SA
Davis, CA
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2012, 02:58 PM
Mark Dickens's Avatar
Mark Dickens Mark Dickens is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Collierville, TN (KFYE)
Posts: 1,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwrichey View Post
Here is how I did it.
Nice work!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:49 PM
Ron RV8's Avatar
Ron RV8 Ron RV8 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Okanagan Valley BC, Canada
Posts: 500
Default ADAHRS Location

I located mine just in front of the stab. Added an access panel about the middle between the bulkheads for access to the ADAHRS and for riveting the turtle deck. I left enough service loop in the wiring and plumbing to pull the unit outside the fuselage for service. The aircraft is not complete so I don't have any information about how well it will work in this location. I had to modify the mount slightly resulting in the oddly shaped ends, the initial position was a bit too far back for the plugs to clear...

__________________
Ron Townson
Okanagan Valley BC, Canada
RV-8 Completed Dec 2013

Membership renewed Nov 22, 2021
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:04 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.