VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > Glass Cockpit
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 12-10-2019, 08:09 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,093
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by maus92 View Post
Steve, should we allow all LRUs and G3X devices to complete updating their software before updating the MFD?
Hello Charley,

It takes less than 30 secs to update each display, so I would leave the MFD powered off until the PFD has completed its work of pushing new software to the devices that require it.

You can also update the MFD first if you prefer.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 12-10-2019, 09:23 AM
AviatorJ AviatorJ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 974
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
You can also update the MFD first if you prefer.

Thanks,
Steve
In my case I can't cut the power to either panel without physically removing the connector. I typically upgrade my MFD first, then the PFD.. do the menu thing then turn on all the avionics. Seems to work fine.
__________________
Justin
RV-10, N10JW
Flying since 2/14/2019
http://operationrv10.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12-10-2019, 10:31 AM
sibriggs sibriggs is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Concord, NH
Posts: 230
Default Went quick

Hi Steve, installed the new 8.60 software today and it went in real fast. I had installed the 8.50 and it took four hours while it installed all the LRUs along with the G3X.

This update didn't seem to install any LRUs, only the G3X, was that expected?

Everything is working fine, thank the support team!
__________________
Steve Briggs. RV9, G3x, G5, VPX, GTN625, PMags, A&P, IA, ATP-CFII
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 12-10-2019, 10:33 AM
Spirko Spirko is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 88
Default

This morning I installed v8.60 (never installed v8.50)

MFD took approx. 30 seconds.
PFD took approx. 30 seconds.

All other components (including all below) loaded in approx. 5 minutes total.
-G5
-GSU 25
-GEA 24
-(2x) GSA 28
-GAD 27
-GAD 29
-GMA 245
-GMC 507
-GEA 24
-GMU 11
-GTR 200

Glad to see AGL back in the Data Bar, helpful practicing Eights on Pylons.
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 12-10-2019, 10:52 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,093
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by sibriggs View Post
Hi Steve, installed the new 8.60 software today and it went in real fast. I had installed the 8.50 and it took four hours while it installed all the LRUs along with the G3X.

This update didn't seem to install any LRUs, only the G3X, was that expected?

Everything is working fine, thank the support team!
Hello Steve,

Yes, for those that installed V8.50, the LRUs were already up-to-date with the new software versions released in V8.50, so the only update was to the GDUs when installing V8.60.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 12-14-2019, 10:48 AM
Nova RV Nova RV is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 577
Default

Installed the 8.6 update today and it was under 5 minutes for both screens and the attached LRUs.
__________________
Chris Moon
Leesburg, VA

CFI-I ASMEL, ATP

RV-14A kit # 140243 (flying as of 11/18)

www.mykitlog.com/chrismoon/
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 12-14-2019, 01:25 PM
kbalch's Avatar
kbalch kbalch is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 586
Default

I tried to update mine to 8.6 yesterday and, while the screens updated in minutes, everything else took substantially longer (hours). My transponder still isn't back up and is showing as a red X on the screens.

Now, I haven't flown yet (getting close!) and so this was the first upgrade done since I installed the panel. The previous version was old (maybe v6.x?), but I wouldn't think it would hang the entire process.

I don't know what to try next, but I'd like to see the process complete and my transponder come back, that's for sure.
__________________
Ken

RV-8 N118KB (#81125) - Sold
RV-14A N114KB (#140494) - Sold

RV-14A.com
N114KB Build Site
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 12-14-2019, 02:17 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,093
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbalch View Post
I tried to update mine to 8.6 yesterday and, while the screens updated in minutes, everything else took substantially longer (hours). My transponder still isn't back up and is showing as a red X on the screens.

Now, I haven't flown yet (getting close!) and so this was the first upgrade done since I installed the panel. The previous version was old (maybe v6.x?), but I wouldn't think it would hang the entire process.

I don't know what to try next, but I'd like to see the process complete and my transponder come back, that's for sure.
Hello Ken,

It would be best to contact us directly via email so we can ask some questions and request some screen shots. No one else has seen these delays, so there is something else going on.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 12-14-2019, 02:40 PM
kbalch's Avatar
kbalch kbalch is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
Hello Ken,

It would be best to contact us directly via email so we can ask some questions and request some screen shots. No one else has seen these delays, so there is something else going on.

Thanks,
Steve
Hi Steve,

Email sent. Thanks for any assistance you can render.
__________________
Ken

RV-8 N118KB (#81125) - Sold
RV-14A N114KB (#140494) - Sold

RV-14A.com
N114KB Build Site
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 01-02-2020, 01:20 PM
rdoerr01 rdoerr01 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 117
Default LRU file corrupt or missing

I tried to upgrade a friends RV-14 (SLSA), it was being upgraded from 7.00 to 8.60. Update did take a long time and it would display "LRU file corrupt or missing" message. It would also update the internal databases, but continues to try and complete one of them and save it complete, but after re-inserting the SD card it would do it all over again with the same result. Any ideas?


Thanks

Ray Doerr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:02 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.