VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > ADS-B
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-22-2017, 06:35 AM
chrispratt's Avatar
chrispratt chrispratt is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpowell13 View Post
Wish I had read your write-up this morning. I test flew my Trig/400W combination this afternoon at KBTR once I got the GPS communicating with the transponder. Haven't gotten any email back from FAA and am anticipating a fail now that you've enlightened me. Will try again tomorrow. Sounds like class C BTR should qualify as to airspace. Thanks for sharing. John
Fingers crossed that it worked out okay.
Glad I could be of some help.

Chris
__________________
Chris Pratt (2021 VAF DUES PAID)
RV-8 Flying, 850+hours
N898DK
Lycoming O-360-A1A, Hartzell CS
52F (Northwest Regional, TX)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-22-2017, 08:02 AM
jeffsvan jeffsvan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: detroit, michigan
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobTurner View Post
I believe most of the "fails" have been due to "Air-Ground" failures (the last item on the report). Specifically, the FAA only gives your box a limited time to switch over from air reporting to ground reporting mode (the box must do this automatically). If you 'let it roll' down the runway your box may take too long to switch, if the switch is based on air or gps speed as most fixed gear planes are. I recommend as above that you brake moderately hard until you see (if your box displays it) that you have switched to ground mode. Then taxi slowly so it doesn't inadvertently switch back to air mode.
Does anyone know exactly how the FAA determines automatically that you're on the ground?

This is what I am trying to find out for my own install. GTN650 to GTX330ES.
What are the settings in each unit that you found work properly for this ground/air/ground transition. I believe the software acts as a switch.
I am finding that my transponder always stays in 'ON' and does not switch to 'ALT' automatically. I have to press the button by hand. I bet I have something not set properly; any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-22-2017, 08:10 AM
bret's Avatar
bret bret is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gardnerville Nv.
Posts: 2,828
Default

Why registration prior 2016? I'm out. I complied with all the regs for 2020 but since I completed and registered my new 7a in November 2016 there is no rebate
__________________
7A Slider, EFII Angle 360, CS, SJ.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-22-2017, 10:44 AM
moll780 moll780 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispratt View Post
... new Garmin Aera 660 that is designed to take weather and traffic information directly from the GTX345.
Chris
are you using the 660 to drive your TrueTrack AP? (i think thats the TT in your panel)..

thanks
Gil
__________________
***********************************
--2008 RV-9A
Austin TX
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-22-2017, 12:00 PM
chrispratt's Avatar
chrispratt chrispratt is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moll780 View Post
are you using the 660 to drive your TrueTrack AP? (i think thats the TT in your panel)..

thanks
Gil
Gil:

I use the panel mounted Garmin 250XL for my primary autopilot feed, but if you see the panel switch just above the 250? I flip that switch over to the right so that the Aera 660 can also drive the TruTrak. (I need to relabel the switch now that I've upgraded.) They both work fine. I figure it's good to have backup sources.

Note: My logic is that I basically don't touch the 250XL much during long flights, but I do use the portable GPS a lot to look at different screens and data. So I figure there's less chance of inadvertently bumping the AP to the off position during such excursions.

Chris
__________________
Chris Pratt (2021 VAF DUES PAID)
RV-8 Flying, 850+hours
N898DK
Lycoming O-360-A1A, Hartzell CS
52F (Northwest Regional, TX)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-22-2017, 12:03 PM
chrispratt's Avatar
chrispratt chrispratt is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bret View Post
Why registration prior 2016? I'm out. I complied with all the regs for 2020 but since I completed and registered my new 7a in November 2016 there is no rebate
I'm guessing it's to encourage that large fleet of older aircraft to do the upgrade. But I agree, why restrict it.
__________________
Chris Pratt (2021 VAF DUES PAID)
RV-8 Flying, 850+hours
N898DK
Lycoming O-360-A1A, Hartzell CS
52F (Northwest Regional, TX)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-22-2017, 12:03 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 7,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffsvan View Post
This is what I am trying to find out for my own install. GTN650 to GTX330ES.
What are the settings in each unit that you found work properly for this ground/air/ground transition. I believe the software acts as a switch.
I am finding that my transponder always stays in 'ON' and does not switch to 'ALT' automatically. I have to press the button by hand. I bet I have something not set properly; any ideas?
I don't have Garmin stuff, so all I can say is 'read the manual'. But I can guess: What I was talking about was auto switching between air mode and ground mode, for the S-ES mode ADSB out. "ON" is usually mode A only, not what you need. I think you need to set up the transponder to always boot up in ALT. Then see if it auto switches between air and ground.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-22-2017, 09:06 PM
jwyatt jwyatt is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Goodhue, MN
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispratt View Post
Glad I could be of some help.
Chris
Thanks for the step-by-step, Chris. I printed your writeup and took it on my verification flight this afternoon for a guide; the FAA report was all green on the first try, and all parameters had 0.0% fail. Hurrah! This is a GTX355/GPS.



Tip learned during the 91.413 transponder check: on the standalone 335 (and I presume 345) models, you may need to enter "ground test" mode to complete the test. Power off and hold the "cursor" key while powering back on; keep holding until the main screen appears. Power off to return to normal operation mode. I didn't find this tidbit in the pilot's guide or install manual, but I've filed it away since it'll be needed every 2 years.
__________________
Joshua Wyatt | Goodhue, Minn.
RV-9A N627DW @ KRGK - Flying since 2012
AFS 4500s | Stratux | SDS EM-5
rv9a.pacificrimsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-22-2017, 09:47 PM
jpowell13 jpowell13 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 719
Default

Thanks Chris. I flew again today staying in Baton Rouge Class C and maneuvered as you suggested (as far as possible given clouds) and requested validation, but I'm not getting any response at all from the FAA. Not sure what I'm doing wrong, but will persist. John
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-22-2017, 10:03 PM
jpowell13 jpowell13 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 719
Default My mistake

I requested validation of my test flight again and discovered my mistake. The form asked for details on your second GPS. Since I only have one GPS connected to my transponder, I was leaving the box blank. But you have to select "none" in my case. My validation requests were not being submitted because I hadn't filled out the form properly.

And, I get to fly again tomorrow. Wasn't airborne quite long enough to satisfy the rules of the program. Rather than worrying Class C departure, I'll go on above 10,000' and stay for at leased 30 minutes. May throw in a couple of aileron rolls and a loop while I'm up there to pass the time. (They do ask for aggressive maneuvers in the instructions.) John

Last edited by jpowell13 : 02-22-2017 at 10:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.