What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

EarthX conversion

Bicyclops

Well Known Member
I've got 2 electronic ignitions and chose to carry 2 batteries with 1 alternator. My batteries are mounted ahead of and behind the firewall.I've been using the Odyssey PC680s for 5 years and they were not starting the engine as well as they once did and not load testing well. Time to fix that.

I got a couple of EarthX EXT680C batteries in a trade for some labor and decided to take the plunge. Here was my first concern: when they are depleted, they shut off. Not good if you need electrons to keep the engine running. That's why I chose 2 batteries to begin with. So I tested the batteries by pulling 8 amps out of them til they quit using a West Mountain Radio CBAIV. My panel and ignitions draw slightly less than that much once the contactors and exterior lighting on turned off. They each provided almost exactly 95% of their rated capacity before quitting and ran for nearly 90 minutes.

My plan has always been to shut off one battery and keep the other in reserve if/when the alternator fails. This obviously requires active notification of alternator failure which my B&C voltage regulator is supposed to provide via flashing light at 13volts. If I am to hold a battery in reserve, I've got to shut it off as soon as the alternator quits or I'm going to wind up in deep doo doo. Before I swapped out the batteries, I checked that by pulling the field breaker and was surprised that the light didn't flash at 12.8 battery voltage. This would be a real problem with a battery that holds 13.2v at 8A until it's pretty much gone. So I set my EFIS to alarm at 13.8v and also at 3A of charge. On the next test, I got both a visual and audible alarm for both voltage and amps with the field pulled. OK, now we've got a plan.