What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

There's a first time for everything

ChiefPilot

Well Known Member
Being an instrument rated pilot, I never really gave much thought to the "accidental VFR into IMC" thing. I mean, sure, it's great to tell folks without the ticket right? Anyway, this happened to ...ummm... a "friend" of mine recently. Ok, it was me. And I prostrate myself before VAF in the hopes that my experience might help someone else.

Low ceilings but great visibility meant nothing other than pattern work. The short flight to another local airport along with the pattern work was great. On the return trip, about five miles out, I saw the destination airport...then I didn't. In another few seconds, I didn't see much of anything at all. I was caught in sudden heavy snow shower.

My mind raced. Transitioning to instruments is no big deal if you're expecting it - I've done it hundreds of times if not more - but when you're not expecting it...wow. First things first - pitot heat on to keep the panel happy and the autopilot on to hold heading/altitude and give me a moment to wind my watch. Next, verify attitude, power, and performance. Those are good. Need alt. air? No, not yet - but watch manifold pressure closely! Are we still going in the right direction at the right altitude? Yep - locked in. Ok, now what are you going to do next?

I need a plan. The mantra of "climb, confess, comply" jumps to mind but I don't need to climb - our altitude is good and the sectional/TAC chart on my lap (well, iPad) as well as years flying this area assure me we have no immediate obstacle clearance problems. Time to talk to approach. Dial in the freq - but just what would the proper phraseology for this request be? Hmm, no need - the snow is done; we're through it.