What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Greeneville TN options

Vol88

My wife and I are flying to Greeneville on Thursday afternoon for the weekend, and - surprise! - see that KGCY just closed for the next five months.

I'm leaning toward KMOR, but KTRI is about the same drive from Greeneville. Any thoughts on which to choose? I'm flying an Arrow and will purchase fuel, if that makes a difference. Rental car options are available for both airports.

As a prospective RV-10 builder, I suppose the tie-breaker is the airport where I'd be more likely to spot any RVs...

You might want to consider fuel prices in your decision. KMOR has the highest prices around. Although just a bit farther, KDKX In Knoxville has good fuel prices, rental cars, and cheap tiedown rates. Easy access to I-40 also. Have a great flight!

KMOR is my home field.

Like Greg mentions, KMOR has the highest gas around unless your a tenant.

However it is just a short hop to much cheaper gas almost anywhere nearby. That is what I used to do before we got a fuel discount for renting a hangar.

We have 2 RV's on the field at KMOR. Several more are always around from other local public airports and private fields. No 10's yet but 2 in construction. (if you count my emp kit that is on a truck at the moment) Both are in neighboring towns.

Don't expect much from the FBO operations at KMOR. The basics and that's about it. The folks in there will help when asked.....

KTRI is a typical class D with regular airline service so be aware of the heavier traffic there. It is a bit further drive to KTRI vs KMOR to KGCY. Not a huge difference but some.

KDKX has at least one flying 10 and maybe more.

KDKX

KDKX is one of my favorite airports, so that's an easy alternative.