VAF Forums

VAF Forums (https://vansairforce.net/community/index.php)
-   Electrical Systems (https://vansairforce.net/community/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Toggle switch - ignition wiring (https://vansairforce.net/community/showthread.php?t=69495)

az_gila 03-09-2011 07:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hobby_rv6 (Post 521236)
...
I ended up with a switch like this


This momentary switch is a "security" kind normally used on vending machines which mounts flush with the surface and cannot be accidentally bumped. I found it at a local electric supply shop for about $5.

Hobby


Hobby, neat switch, what diameter is the thread?

RV10Rob 03-09-2011 12:20 PM

Interesting... I have the ground side of my mag switch wired to airframe ground near the firewall and the p-lead shield grounded at the mag case only (which is what Van's wiring diagram shows). What's the benefit of having the mag switch ground run through the shield and back to the mag case, as shown in the diagram from earlier in this thread?

-Rob

hobby_rv6 03-09-2011 01:22 PM

flush mounted switch
 
Gil,
Look at the online Digikey catalog, page 2308. It shows the Apem line of vandal proof switches. I looked at several other manufacturers, and it appears that the required mounting hole is between .625" to .875", depending upon the switch. I think that mine was .75".
Don't let the prices shown shock you. Like I said, I went to a local electric supply shop, described what I was trying to accomplish, and he walked me to the back supply room with the boxes of inventory, reached in and said "like this". And it was exactly what I wanted.
Good luck,
Hobby

elippse 03-09-2011 01:42 PM

The LSE always starts at TDC and when rpm increases to about 400 rpm it switches to advanced timing.

az_gila 03-09-2011 07:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hobby_rv6 (Post 521567)
Gil,
Look at the online Digikey catalog, page 2308. It shows the Apem line of vandal proof switches. I looked at several other manufacturers, and it appears that the required mounting hole is between .625" to .875", depending upon the switch. I think that mine was .75".
Don't let the prices shown shock you. Like I said, I went to a local electric supply shop, described what I was trying to accomplish, and he walked me to the back supply room with the boxes of inventory, reached in and said "like this". And it was exactly what I wanted.
Good luck,
Hobby

Thanks for the info - I guess the trick is to use "vandal proof" to search...:)

I'll replace my ugly AC spruce one now -



...and I'll check our local electrical outlet.

I presume that quite a long physical movement of the button is required to actuate the switch, Apem did not seem to give a spec.

vmirv8bldr 03-10-2011 09:15 PM

Grounding method - why?
 
Potential noise issue. Bob addresses very briefly in this article, near the end:

http://www.aeroelectric.com/articles...tchOptions.pdf

Bart


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:32 PM.