What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-9A Experience in SW Florida

Jwputnam

Well Known Member
I need some help. I live on Marco Island. I am 70. I have PP, INST, COMM, MULTI! but have not flown in 15 years. Have built FFR Cobra and Glen-L wooden boat in retirement, but now I have been bitten by the flying bug again hard out of the blue and want to build a plane. I ordered all of the info packs from Sonex, Zenith and Vans. I studied them intensely as well as lots of internet study and phone calls to builders. I attended Sonex build school three weeks ago. Flew the plane. Wonderful, professional people, but plane will not meet my mission requirements. Then concentrated on Zodiac CH-650, frankly, because the very desirable Vans products seemed too expensive and perhaps too difficult for me to build. The 650 seemed to be a great compromise for me, but further intense research brought me back to the Vans RV-9A. I am simply going to bite the bullet and build the correct aircraft for my well considered mission.

THE ISSUE: I really need to see and touch a real RV-9A before pulling the trigger. I need to talk to that builder one to one about his same dream and fulfillment. (The builders that I have talked to AND the Vans factory all tell me this.) if I can mooch a demo flight, wow!, all the better....and I can trade you for a drive of my Cobra around town if you like. Can anyone who has built a flying RV-9A in SW Florida (or anywhere within a day's drive) help me out? I would be extremely appreciative, I assure you. THANKS!

John Putnam 239-777-2555

You might consider the RV12 also, loose a bit of speed but has a lot of other nice things about it as well as 1/2 the build time about.

I am sure you will be happy no matter what.