What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Windscreen - canopy alignment slider

JurgenRoeland

Well Known Member
There's something I'm troubled about on the manual of the sliding canopy for the RV-7.
When ready cutting the windscreen, you are supposed to adjust the height of the front canopy frame for fitting with the windscreen that's now taped in place.

on page 9-12:
the height of the canopy is adjusted at the roller brackets so the windscreen portion of the canopy is even with, or slightly lower than the sliding portion of the canopy.

I don't understand why they say 'slightly lower'. I would have expected slightly higher. I have no experience with fiberglass yet but I was assuming that it would be better for the transition with the fairing that the sliding canopy would be even or slightly lower than the windscreen.

Is this an error in the manual or am I not understanding the process ?

the canopy frame is marginally higher than the roll bar / windscreen hoop.

Drawing 43 shows this.

When you finish the screen you attach a strip to overlap / fair in the gap.

Best wishes,
Ian

I understood indeed that the WD-640 frame itself of de slider is 3/8inch higher than the roll bar as in detail B on WD43.

But in the manual they are referring to the resulting top surface of the windscreen plexi to slider part plexi when the bubble is on.

I would have expected that here, the windscreen would stand out a little bit higher or equal. (but not less) in order to make the fairing transition easier.

In case it is of use Larry Larson answered some questions on the canopy metalwork on here and has published a couple of very useful articles on the slider canopy - sikaflexing and one piece fibreglass skirt - in Kitplanes which are available online.

Cheers
Ian

Tips

I know that guy!:D Sorry. Silly sense of humor.
A couple tips may help.