VAF Forums

VAF Forums (https://vansairforce.net/community/index.php)
-   My RV Build Project (https://vansairforce.net/community/forumdisplay.php?f=108)
-   -   RV-7A N74WL Joe Gepner (https://vansairforce.net/community/showthread.php?t=103646)

JoeGepner 08-27-2013 10:27 PM

RV-7A N74WL Joe Gepner

Hi Guys,

I'm just getting started on my RV-7A build (I haven't even unpacked the tail kit yet). Tonight I finished building a couple of the EAA benches and I had a quick question for the experts here.

I have been planning to build the tail and wing kits in an old storage room in my basement. It's nice and climate controlled, and also as far as I can get from my kids room so I can hopefully run the air compressor at night.

The room is roughly 18ft by 14ft. Do you guys think that is big enough to get through the tail and wings? Once it's time to start on the fuselage, I thought I would pack up shop and move to the garage. Am I going to be kicking myself for not starting in the garage?

RV7AJeremy 08-27-2013 10:33 PM

I'm no expert but I say build where is it climate controlled. The emp kit is easy to move around, the wings on the other hand are a little more difficult to maneuver. Do you have easy access to the basement (door directly outside etc)?

I bought a portable air conditioner for my garage; I don't think I would work on the project nearly as much if it wasn't climate controlled. Have fun!

DaleB 08-27-2013 10:37 PM

Joe, you might think about putting the compressor in the garage and running some air pipe down to your work room. I picked up a kit from Northern Tool that uses 1/2" nylon pipe with push-in fittings, makes plumbing pretty easy.

Building the empennage down there won't be a problem, space-wise. Before you start the wings, though, just be sure you can get a 4' x 10' x 8" object ALL THE WAY outside without bumping into anything. It would really suck to have a rude surprise when it came time to move the wings.

mburch 08-28-2013 06:43 AM

This guy