What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-10 rudder trim

ClarkieSr

I'm a rookie at RV building and I was wondering if it is worth the effort to add rudder trim on the -10 while I'm building the empennage. If so what is the best system? Cable actuated or elect servo?

Mine cost $1.92 + tax...3/8" X 1/2" balsa stick velcroed to tunnel. Installed between rudder pedal tube and framework below seat. Cut a half moon shape on one end. Used only in cruise and removed for descent. Easily breakable if necessary. Yes, I know it is too simple and cheap.

I TIG welded tabs on my towbar to install as a rudder gust lock.

Welcome to VAF!

I'm a rookie at RV building

Tom, welcome aboard the good ship VAF.

I installed the electric setup, with a cut in tab vs the add on hinge tab. I am pleased with it, surprising how effective it is considering the small size as it relates to the overall rudder.

If I were to build another plane, I would do the same.

Pretty sure others with different trim systems will have a similar feeling about what they are using.

My suggestion----------pick one and go with it, whatever seems best to you.

RV Builders in Central FL

I'm new to RV building and have started work on the -10 empennage. I would like to know if there are other builders in my area. I live in The Villages, FL 32162.

Hey Ed if I remember right I thought you bought the control approach rudder pedals and if so the rudder trim from aerosport won't work if I am thinking correctly.

Hey Ed if I remember right I thought you bought the control approach rudder pedals and if so the rudder trim from aerosport won't work if I am thinking correctly.

Good memory!