What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Cost of Clones and Alternative engines

Rotary10-RV

Well Known Member
Group, I would like to find out some actual prices for engines in the current market. I have a 20B Mazda rotary I plan to install in my RV-10. I am just getting started, and I'm choosing my subsystem parts after taking some time to evaluate prices and engineering on the parts I will buy from outside sources. I plan to accurately track the prices of the pieces and will report what the finished costs are. I offer this as a means of comparison for some of the guys thinking about alternative engine choices. If you have purchased one of the clone engines what were the finished costs FWF ready-to-fly? The price of the prop is an additional inquiry column. Are you running a C/S? Fixed pitch? Wood?
A honest table would be a great help to us all. Where you purchased your engine and the condition at purchase is a good idea as well. We can help each other with this information! Personal info is good if you will be doing a lot of the build yourself. Lastly the flying results with G/HR true air&ground speed if you can get them.

Personal Info
Rotary10-RV
I'm a mechanical engineer/designer working in the central California area. A former race car and bike builder, I will do a good deal of my assembly work myself. So far I'm designing the engine mount and cooling system I will use in SolidWorks. (a computer design program) I am riveting the Empacone of my RV-10 now. Ross you said you might have the stage/loft for the RV-10 you are using on the Subaru convert you are doing, could you post that? The measurements of the firewall mt locations would also be a boon. (SDS ign and inj for the 20B too!)