What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Engine choices revisited

johngoodman

Well Known Member
Sorry guys/gals,
But I would like to discuss RV-10 engine options. I've read all the old posts, but as a newbie I would like to get a better handle on the issues. I'll list the issues that interest me and hope somebody will comment on any or all.

? The Van's folks worked out that the machine needs 210 to 260HP. One plane has the Lyc. IO540-D4A5 for 260HP and the other has the Cont. IO360-ES for 210 HP. From what I can glean out of the old posts, the Continental engine is 100 pounds lighter but costs virtually the same. From what I've read the Continental gives similar performance numbers as the Lyc. The Lycoming seems to have a great reputation, and the "ES" Continental seems to have overcome a bad reputation. Vans now says that they will not support a firewall fwd option for the Continental because of a lack of buyers.

? I know about the Mattituck clones, etc., but all that talk is about mods of the same engine. We really have only one engine choice that fits the Vans mounts, right?

? I'm not looking for that last 5 knots, I want to save 100 pounds.

? Are the Lyc four-bangers even an option?

I've got a thick skin and newbies are always allowed stupid questions, right? Fire away.

John Goodman

Not stupid........

Mornin' John,
It's not a stupid question, rather one that makes me ask, "Why?" Van has what must be the very best value or "Bang-for-the-buck" and already someone wants to re-engineer the motor mounts for a four-banger! Build a 7 or an 8 if you want to do a 4-banger.