What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Pre deployment fun - looking for flight in Nor Cal (thread moved to 'CA' sect. by dr)

skybum02

I'm New Here
Hi There! I'm a US Air Force pilot getting ready to deploy to Afghanistan for a long while and when I get back in the spring I'll have some money saved up. With that cash I hope to then join the Vans Air Force! My dream is an RV-7 with the slider canopy... nothing is more sexy than taxing in with your canopy slid open! Reminds me of 10 years ago earning my wings in the mighty T-37 Tweet :)

I've ridden in an RV-8 and would like to see what a RV-6 or RV-7 feels like. I'm new to this forum but my buddy Matt who owned an RV-8 said that the folks from VAF are some of the most helpful and friendliest folks on the planet.

I'll be in the Roseville / Sacramento / Nor Cal area until the 6th or 7th of June. I fly Wed, Thur, Fri so weekend or Monday works great. Would anyone be willing to take me up for a ride? I'll buy gas and help wash her down after the flight. I know this is dangerous to ask... not because of the flying but because of the addiction and longing to be in an RV while flying laps over the rugged Hindu Kush... the many hours in the base library looking at RVs and jealously reviewing your posts on the VAF forum.

The best way to contact me is via PM and I'll write back.

If we can't fly then just meeting up and taking a closer look at the RV and discussing options sounds like a great idea too!

Blue Skies,
Steve

Last edited:
Golden West Fly In

steve,

The West Coast RaVens will be performing that weekend and we'll find somebody with a -6 or -7 to give you a hop if you have time to make it to the Golden West Fly In at Marysville.

Tim
(559)352-6145

Welcome, Steve.

Welcome to the VAF family, Steve.

Mainly though, I'd like to thank you and all the other service men and women for serving our beautiful USA!