What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Question concerning operation at rearward CG

CraigH@KRPH

Well Known Member
I'm contemplating a trip with a heavier than standard friend. With light bags, our CG at landing will put us at 76.25 with the rear CG limit being 76.8

I'm still pretty new to flying the 6A, and am trying to anticipate what kind of handling surprises I might find. I've owned several different planes in the past. Some of them were perfectly fine anywhere within the allowable CG range. Others were downright scary once you got towards the rear limits. Where does the 6A fall? Thanks in advance for any advice and recommendations.

Pitch force gets VERY light at aft cg limits in the -6/6A, especially at lower speeds. At landing speeds, stick force is so light, it's very easy to over flare.

Make sure you figure the CG with the fuel burned down as well as full. In the -6, as you burn down the fuel, since it is forward of the spar, the CG will move back.
In my -6, with a heavy passenger and a rear CG, it was more difficult to land since the tail wheel wanted to hit first. Also, what Mel says is correct.
I really noticed this on a trip at GW with a friend. We ended up putting some luggage just ahead of the spar behind our legs and it made quite a difference in handling.

I agree with Mel, in that the stick forces do get much lighter. At the end of a long flight, my CG is much closer to the aft limit than you are proposing (some times within .3 of an inch). I have to limit my baggage to 70 lbs in order to stay within CG at 8 gal remaining (this is why my personal limit is min 10gal). Although it is more sensitive, it is still very controllable and not a concern.

Same consideration with -9/9A?

I know this is a -6/6A forum, sorry for veering off but I'm curious-