What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-4 landing gear

Paul Best

picx00052tz.jpg

Cool

Way cool Paul. Have you flown it yet? Please post pictures in flight, this is great. You have more work in the landing gear than I do in my 9-a QB.
Thanks for the post
Harvey L.

Airborne retractable RV-4!

airbornesmall2bq.jpg

Hi Harvey, My plane was built in 1995 and I have been flying it for six years. It has a Lycoming 180 hp with constant speed prop. Regards, Paul Best

Nolonger a Vans

While the RV-4RG is intriguing... I think something more interesting would be to take the concept one big step further; "total cruiser".

Start with the fuselage dimensions of the RV-8A. Put a longer thinner tappered wing on it. Why?

- slower roll rate
- improved wing efficiency
- thicker root coord for storing the wheel

You want 6.75 hr endurance on 9gph so 60 gal tanks, 30g/side. On a IO-360 200hp CS, you're looking at 220KTAS cruise on 9gph, 1500 fpm gross weight (2000lbs) climb. It would look/fly a lot like a small T-34.

-Bruce

Rv-4rg

Looks cool, a lot of work. Well done. I may have missed it, but where did you put the fuel? Also, what empty weight did you get, what gross did you set and did you strengthen the wing?

Rv-4 Rg!

Hi Grant,