What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

autopilots and ILS

pck

I'm New Here
Hello,
I'm a future RV7A builder and i was just think'n down the road... when I choose an EFIS and autopilot.
I would like to be able to navigate via VOR and GPSS, shoot fully coupled ILS and GPS (including vertical). Do all the various AP's out there (Trio, Tru trak, Dynon, Garmin, AF...etc....) have these capabilities?? I was told that Trio only navigates by GPS.
Thanks for your comments

pck

A Trutrak Digiflight II VSGV with an AFS EFIS and a ARINC 429 converter will fly coupled GPS, VOR, and ILS approaches with vertical guidance. It is the only one I have any experience with.

Hello,
I'm a future RV7A builder and i was just think'n down the road... when I choose an EFIS and autopilot.
I would like to be able to navigate via VOR and GPSS, shoot fully coupled ILS and GPS (including vertical). Do all the various AP's out there (Trio, Tru trak, Dynon, Garmin, AF...etc....) have these capabilities?? I was told that Trio only navigates by GPS.
Thanks for your comments

pck

Whatever answer you receive now will be obsolete by the time you are ready for your panel. Rest assured the capabilities you want will be available from several vendors....avionics continue to advance at a rapid pace.

Best wishes for an enjoyable project!

Whatever answer you receive now will be obsolete by the time you are ready for your panel. Rest assured the capabilities you want will be available from several vendors....avionics continue to advance at a rapid pace.

Best wishes for an enjoyable project!

Ditto! What Sam said is spot on. This stuff is progressing as fast as PC's. The cool part is that whatever you install today will have a software upgrade next week that will add to its already impressive functionality.