What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Walter 601AG

Yes I have, thats where the gears started spinning in my head, I have crunched the numbers over and over and the 601 just makes a lot of sense in that plane. Have you operated one in one of your dusters?

Yeah, so it doesn't exist yet, despite the claim in the first post. Anyway, my friend with the Propjet is running one of those and he seems fairly happy, but I have no experience with the current owners and their website seems a bit sketchy. I was impressed when the former owner flew his Propjet to Flagstaff to help my friend troubleshoot his engine installation and perform the first flight - this even though he no longer had a stake in Dimech. He and his wife both worked on my friend's plane for many hours on a pre-flight inspection. Good people.

But, despite my impression of the Walter and the support available for it, I wouldn't want it in a -10. Van has said (though I can't find the quote right now) that he doesn't recommend a higher HP rating for the airframe. Also, turbines guzzle JetA. My friend loves his Propjet for long distance flights but he never joins us for breakfast hops because the fuel cost is just too silly. They also work best up high, so his pressurized cockpit makes long flights at 18k plus no problem but you'd be on O2 the whole time in a -10. If you just want "gofast" for a Rocket I could see it but otherwise it's not really practical.

Nope

Yes I have, thats where the gears started spinning in my head, I have crunched the numbers over and over and the 601 just makes a lot of sense in that plane. Have you operated one in one of your dusters?