What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Priming tips for a noob

Red_Baron

G'day VAF!

I am about to prime the HS on my RV7. I am using PreKote to prepare and 2 pack epoxy primer (green).

The down side is I've never used a spray gun before.

I've bought thinners but have no idea on how much to use or even what consistency to look for.

Any tips or pointers available before I start experimenting ... and possibly making one #%??* of a mess?

Cheers,

Only an assumption but if you're using the Akzo Noble two part 463-12-8, most common because Spruce sells it. Here is the tech sheet link:

http://www.anac.com/TechnicalDatasheets/AkzoNobel_463-12-8.pdf

If not go to the manufacturers website of your primer and download their Tech sheet and MSDS. Tip size for materials are usually listed on the tech sheet along with mixing ratios. PLEASE adhere to the recommended PPE (Personal Protective Equipment) so you can live long and prosper.

Priming

Well, I'd never used a spray gun (just an airbrush) before either, and aside for a few runs, worked out quite well. Using Alumiprep 33, Alodine 1201 and PPG Super Korapon epoxy primer.

Not familiar with PreKote, but as long as it is compatible with your paint supplier's recommendations, should be OK.

You'll be doing a lot of primering (I'm currently working on my fuselage) so you'll get better at it. If you are really unsure, practice on some scrap pieces of aluminum (try a scrap dealer) until you are more confident, or ask the paint supplier for names of experienced painters near you who could help you.

Primer is easy. Paint is also but of the two primer is the easiest. What equipment do you have? What brand of primer? I may be able to give you a couple tips to get you started.