What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Need help on Navaid AP1

Airparkguy

I'm New Here
Hello Forum,

I have a Navaid and it appears as though the servo unit is defective. I am a electronic tech and I have tested the head control unit and all is ok, but the servo is erratic. I have changed all the solid state chips and it still is not functioning properly. I also was able to connect my control head to a system in a RV8 and it works as good as the one that was in the plane, so I have confirmed there must be some other components in my servo that is the problem. Does anybody have a schematic of the servo? Or can I purchase a servo that will work with the AP1 control head?
Thanks
Earl

Hello Forum,

I have a Navaid and it appears as though the servo unit is defective. I am a electronic tech and I have tested the head control unit and all is ok, but the servo is erratic. I have changed all the solid state chips and it still is not functioning properly. I also was able to connect my control head to a system in a RV8 and it works as good as the one that was in the plane, so I have confirmed there must be some other components in my servo that is the problem. Does anybody have a schematic of the servo? Or can I purchase a servo that will work with the AP1 control head?
Thanks
Earl

Did you check the feedback pot?

I changed

my Navaid for a Trio unit 2 times. It is worth the investment. If the servo works in one plane, it should work in all.
Woodman

Gyro unit

Woodman,
Thanks for the reply, the gyro panel unit is OK. That is what I tried in the other