What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

AFP Purge Valve Operation

ExtraKatana

Well Known Member
Bought a 6 with the AFP FI system and purge valve.
Engine is an IO-360 9:1
Can someone walk me through the prescribed method for shutdown and Hot Starts? The specific reason for the valve? (I have heard that with this system full lean does not provide enough fuel starvation to kill the engine) I believe there is a purpose for this.....other use for the valve? The vent is to the starboard tank.
Thanks for your help!

Here is how I do it.

I am still learning the entire fuel injection thing, but here is what I have learned in 30 hours.

Shut down the engine with the cutoff valve. Leave it in the cutoff position till you are ready to start the engine again, be it in 10 minutes, or ten days.

For hot start, I just close the bypass valve, and twist the key.

No boost pump, mixture full rich, throttle cracked a bit.

Good luck, hopefully Don will jump in here and give a better lesson than I can. If you havent yet figured it out, Don is a regular here, and is extremely helpful.

Last edited:
The valve can be used for several things.

1. Killing the engine, like Mike said. Just open the value and fuel is stopped from feeding the engine.

2. Purging the hot fuel from the system for a hot start. Place the fuel selector on left, open the throttle and mixture to full rich, purge valve open. Run for 30 - 40 seconds. This should push the hot fuel into the right tank, but you will need to check the plumbing on your plane.