What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-10 Proseal for elevator foam ribs question

jchang10

Well Known Member
This is a question i posted to Van's with the following response. I was curious what others may have done at this same spot? It seems like an unnecessary thing to have to mask off these 2 areas per elevator in the skins, where i have been doing the whole alumiprep, alodine, and epoxy primer, everywhere else. not sure if all the masking is worth it?

Thanks for the feedback!

To: Van's Support

Hi again,

I am on page 9-14 of the -10 plans, where proseal is called for to affix the elevator foam ribs to the elevator skins. i have no prior experience with proseal, so i could use some guidance on this.

i see on the accessories catalog at http://www.vansaircraft.com/cgi-bin/catalog.cgi?browse=misc&product=proseal, there are 3 sizes available. i would think getting the 1qt size is probably overkill for this application? do you know which size is recommended that i order for doing the foam ribs. i know proseal is used for the wings and fuel tanks, however, is it required anywhere else in the tail kit?

finally, i have been applying an epoxy primer to the inside of my skins so far. do you know if proseal over an epoxy primer is okay? or should i somehow try to mask things so proseal sticks to bare aluminum?

Thank you for any advice!

Jae

Van's Response:

A quart is a way more than you need for this small job, but will be
useful when you get to the tanks. We do have proseal in 1 0z
size, too

If you are priming, you'll want to mask off the area where the rib will
be bonded on.

Yes and yes w/Vans advice:
1. Definitely mask off the trailing edge (or anywhere else you are using proseal--didn't know the 10 had foam in the elevators). The proseal sticks much better without the primer.