What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Want to fly RV-10 in Colorado

ppilotmike

Well Known Member
I am an aspiring RV builder, living in Denver, Colorado. My wife and I have been planning to build for a couple years now, and I am very close to pulling the trigger on an RV-10 kit. However, I really want to fly in one before I commit.

Back in February, my wife and I took a vacation to the Vans factory in Portland to get a ride in the 10, but the weather made that impossible (nice to see the factory though - See Trip Post "Pilgrammage to Portland").

Then I took vacation out to Oshkosh for a week this year, in hopes I might get a demo ride in the RV-10, but the people in the Vans tent told me they had given all of the the test flights on Monday (I arrived Wednesday AM).

So now I sit... I'm excited about building a Vans, but I'm worried that the feel of the 10 will be too mushy and not as responsive as I'm looking for. My wife wants a 4-seater, but I just can't make the choice until I know for sure how it will fly. Is there anyone in Colorado with an RV-10 they are willing to take me up in for a demo flight? Please PM me...

You should have stopped by the RV-10 HQ at Camp Scholler. You probably could have hooked up with somebody to give you a ride.

bob

Depends on what your used to flying...

From 90 hrs in a 172 to the .5 hr RV-10 demo ride at snf 2009 with Joe Blank(signed up at 8am Monday morning)...just no comparison in the amount of room, visibility, power, vibration level, very light in pitch/roll. Working on ailerons. It just takes lots of money/time but will be worth it in the end even with the high insurance/taxes/fuel. Definitely recommend to fly it and see for yourself.

Ride in an RV-10

I plan on being at KAPP on September 9, 2010. PM me a phone number and I will give you a call to see if we can set up something.