What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

To import or not to import

dkroeker

I'm New Here
Hi,

I'm a CPL student at Langley and I am very keen on getting an RV-6 or 7. I have found one in California that has all of the options/equipment that I want but I am very hesistant to buy a plane from the States because it seems like importing could be a nightmare. If anyone has any insite on this, I would be very grateful.

Alternatively, if anyone is selling (or knows someone who is) an RV-6 or 7 in Canada for around $60k, that could solve my dilemma nicely :) I'm not looking for anything super fancy, but day/night VFR, radio, mode C, and some form of radio navigation are my basic requirements.

Thanks,
Darren

Not a nightmare

Importing is definitely a lot more hassle than buying locally but quite doable, you just need some patience to work through the process. You also need to look carefully at the added costs. Consider:

Exchange - Included in this is the actual exchange rate plus the ~2% the bank will charge as their fee for doing the currency exchange. I see you are in Vancouver, I ended up using Vancouver Bullion and Exchange on Pender, saved a lot of money over using the banks.
Taxes - you will have to pay both GST and PST on your import.
Transportation - you will probably have someone ferry this to Canada for you and this will cost.
Inspections - you will have to have an annual inspection done regardless of when the last annual was done in the USA. You will also have to pay the MD-RA fee plus expenses to the MD-RA inspector.
Registration fees - there is a fee to get your registration mark.